Don't have an account? Click Here

Cal Off To Strong Start in San Diego
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  04/06/2013

April 6, 2013


SAN DIEGO - California women's crew raced in four heats with three victories on the first day of the San Diego Crew Classic on Saturday at Mission Bay in San Diego.

The varsity eight placed second with a time of 6:26.36 in their heat for the Jessop-Whittier Cup. USC boat captured the heat with a time of 6:24.05. Duke (6:35.11) finished third, while Wisconsin (6:38.57) was fourth, Purdue (6:48.37) was fifth and Iowa (6:53.10) was sixth.

"We had a pretty good day," said Cal head women's crew coach Dave O'Neill. "Winning three of our heats and coming in second in the other sounds pretty good, except it was the varsity eight that came out on the short end. Their final looks really competitive, so they need to be much better than they we today in order to come out on top."

The second varsity boat captured its heat with a time of 6:46.05. Wisconsin (6:54.30) placed second, while Washington State (6:47.64) was third, Iowa (7:05.95) was fourth, KSU (7:13.40) was fifth and SMU (7:35.15) was sixth.

"The second eight did a great job," O'Neill said. "They raced hard and looked pretty solid. They're a really good crew, and I'm looking forward to seeing them go after it tomorrow."

The Cal novice eight won its heat for the Laurel V. Korholz Perpetual Trophy with a time of 7:02.91. Minnesota (7:14.34) placed second, USC (7:19.10) was third, OCC (7:33.45) was fourth, SDSU's (7:33.84) first boat finished fifth, Sacramento State (7:41.31) placed sixth and SDSU's (7:56.49) second boat finished seventh.

In their final race of the day, the Bears took first place in their heat for the Carley Copley Cup in the open eight with a time of 6:54.88. UCLA (7:08.54) was second. British Columbia (7:14.72) was third, USD (7:24.61) finished fourth, Colorado RC (7:24.26) was fifth and UCSD (8:44.07) took sixth.

"Both the novice eight and open eight had great races and won going away. The are definitely in the mix for the wins tomorrow," O'Neill said.

Cal will conclude its competition in the San Diego Crew Classic on Sunday. Fans can follow the action with live results by clicking here or by following on Twitter using the handle @CrewClassic. For all the latest news on the Bears you can follow them on Twitter at the handle @CalWCrew

Varsity Eight
Cal lineup: Rachel Ersted (coxswain), Kara Kohler (stroke), Jenn Helssen, Kendall Chase, Paparangi Hipango, Jacinta Edmunds, Maggie Simpson, Erica Rippe, Aggie Nowinski (bow)

Second Varsity Eight:
Cal lineup: Lynn Anderson (coxswain), Michelle Leason (stroke), Rosie Popa, Clair Premzic, Charlotte Passot, Charlotte Siering, Heather Hargreaves, Maddie Wolf, Ingvild Roenningen (bow)

Novice Eight
Cal lineup: Rebecca Moll (coxswain), Sarah Schwartz (stroke), Cara Bohmann, Savannah Eldridge, Clara Nowinski, Genevieve Knock, Moraya Cleary, Jasmine Rossi-DeVries, Kristine Sanders (bow)

Open Eight
Cal lineup: Lynn Anderson (coxswain), Christine Bernatz, Helen Oliver, Greer Uu, Caroline Rosetti, Kyndal Mancho, Elie Byrd, Stephanie Ding, Sarah Goldman (bow)

Cal Bears Women's Crew

Playing for the Future
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Premium Tickets
Uploaded Ad grand opening