Brandon Hagy
Todd Drexler/SE Sports Media

Hagy Named Semifinalist for The Ben Hogan Award

Prestigious honor given annually to the top NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college men's golfer.
By Cal Athletics on Wed, April 16, 2014

Related Links

NORMAN, Okla. – Cal senior Brandon Hagy was named one of 10 national semifinalists for The Ben Hogan Award as announced Wednesday by the Colonial Country Club, Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America.

“The Ben Hogan Award is very prestigious and there are a lot of great golfers that have made the list,” Hagy said. “I’m lucky to be a part of that group. It’s very exciting.”

“I’m really excited, proud and happy for Brandon,” Cal head coach Steve Desimone said. “It’s a great honor and elite company that he’s in as a semifinalist for this prestigious honor.”

The 2013-14 national player of the year candidate has been an individual medalist three times this season (Jack Nicklaus Invitational, Arizona Intercollegiate, Aggie Invitational) and finished in the top 10 in nine of 11 regular-season events with eight of those finishes in the top five.

Hagy is nation’s No. 6 ranked player in the latest Golfweek rankings released Monday, while Golfstat has him at No. 7 in its most recent rankings released Tuesday. He is also on the watch list for the Haskins Award and one of five national finalists for the Byron Nelson Award along with fellow Cal senior Joël Stalter. Hagy leads Cal with a 70.53 stroke average and is the only Golden Bear to play in all 11 of the team’s events and 32 rounds in 2013-14.

Stalter and senior Michael Weaver were also on the watch list for The Ben Hogan Award presented annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the 12-month period dating from the previous award’s banquet. The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee is made up of 24 leaders and experts in amateur, college and professional golf.

In alphabetical order, the other semifinalists are: Bryson Dechambeau (SMU), Greg Eason (UCF), Joey Garber (Georgia), Cheng-Tsung Pan (Washington), Patrick Rodgers (Stanford), Ollie Schniederjans (Georgia Tech), Robby Shelton (Alabama), Cameron Wilson (Stanford) and Bobby Wyatt (Alabama).

On Wednesday, May 7, the group of 10 semifinalists will be pared down to three finalists. The trio will attend a black-tie banquet at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth on Sunday, May 18, where the recipient will be announced. The winner will receive an exemption into the PGA TOUR’s 2015 Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial.

The award, which was first issued in 1990 and included academic achievement in its original list of standards, revised its criteria for the 2001-02 collegiate season to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer. Since that time, the winners have been: D.J. Trahan (Clemson, 2002), Ricky Barnes (Arizona, 2003), Hunter Mahan (Oklahoma State, 2003), Bill Haas (Wake Forest, 2004), Ryan Moore (UNLV, 2005), Matt Every (Florida, 2006), Chris Kirk (Georgia, 2007), Rickie Fowler (Oklahoma State, 2008), Kyle Stanley (Clemson, 2009), Nick Taylor (Washington, 2010), Peter Uihlein (Oklahoma State, 2011), Patrick Cantlay (UCLA, 2012) and Chris Williams (Washington, 2013).

Hagy is attempting to become the second Cal golfer in as many seasons to become a national finalist for the award with Michael Kim one of three finalists in 2013.

In the latest national polls, Cal is ranked No. 3 according to Golf World/Nike Golf, No. 4 by GolfStat and No. 5 according to Golfweek/Sagarin. The Bears won six of 11 regular-season events in 2013-14 and have tied for the second-most team victories in school history. Cal returns to action April 25-27 at the Pac-12 Championship hosted by Arizona at the Gallery Golf Club in Marana, Arizona.

For more information on The Ben Hogan Award, visit and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter.


Dress Your Pet 2015
Any Mountain
Playing for the Future Gilead
Inside the Locker Room
Muscle Milk Student Athlete of the Week