MEMBER SIGN IN
Don't have an account? Click Here


Brandon Hagy
Courtesy: Cal Athletics
Five Cal Golfers Play First Round of U.S. Amateur
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  08/12/2013
 @CalMensGolf
Websites: U.S. Amateur

BROOKLINE, Mass. – Brandon Hagy leads five Cal golfers participating in the 113th U.S. Amateur after shooting a two-over par 72 on Monday that has him tied for 58th place after 18 holes. The top 64 golfers at the end of 36 holes of stroke-play action scheduled to be completed Tuesday will move on to match play slated to start Wednesday.

Hagy, who began on the ninth tee, had a single birdie Monday on the par-four 17th hole to go along with three bogeys all on par-fours (1, 3, 14) and 14 pars.

The next Cal golfer on the leaderboard is 2012 U.S. Amateur runner up Michael Weaver, who shot a four-over par 74 and is tied for 112th after 18 holes.

Pace Johnson (T151st, 75, +5), Max Homa (T224th, 78, +8) and Michael Kim (T283rd, 81, +11) are the other Cal golfers in the event.

Johnson’s four birdies during first-round action on the par-four sixth, 10th and 17th holes as well as the par-three seventh topped all Cal players, but he had a wild round that also included a quadruple bogey eight on the par-four ninth and five bogeys on the first, second, 11th, 14th and 15th holes – all par-fours other than the par-three second.

All five Cal golfers played Monday at The Country Club on Monday and will be at Charles River Country Club during second-round action Tuesday.

A playoff to get into match play if necessary would happen Wednesday as would the first round of match play action. The second and third round of match play are scheduled for Thursday, followed by Friday’s quarterfinals, semifinals on Saturday and a 36-hole championship match Sunday.

Cal’s five players equal the number of Golden Bears in the 2012 U.S. Amateur and is one short of the school record six Cal players in the 2010 event.

In addition to Weaver being the runner up at the 2012 U.S. Amateur, Hagy made the 2012 semifinals while Homa was in the Round of 32 after having reached the quarterfinals in 2010. Kim was in the Round of 64 last year.

INDIVIDUAL LEADER (after 1 of 2 days of stroke play/1 of 2 rounds of stroke play/18 of 36 holes of stroke play)
1. Nick Hardy 65 (-5)

CAL PLAYERS (after 1 of 2 days of stroke play/1 of 2 rounds of stroke play/18 of 36 holes of stroke play)
T58. Brandon Hagy 72 (+2)
T112. Michael Weaver 74 (+4)
T151. Pace Johnson 75 (+5)
T224. Max Homa 78 (+8)
T283. Michael Kim 81 (+11)

CAL PLAYERS (Second-Round Pairings and Starting Times)
Tuesday, August 13
7:50 a.m. ET/4:50 a.m. PT – Michael Weaver w/ Sam Straka and Jeremy Wall
8:20 a.m. ET/5:20 a.m. PT – Brandon Hagy w/Joe Kastelic and Blake Snyder
12:25 p.m. ET/9:25 a.m. PT – Pace Johnson w/Adam Ball and Andrew Lister
12:45 p.m. ET/9:45 a.m. PT – Michael Kim w/Charlie Danielson and Wilson McDonald
1:05 p.m. ET/10:05 a.m. PT – Max Homa w/Nathan Kimsey and Scott Strohmeyer


Cal Bears Men's Golf


advertisement
Listen to Cal Games live online
Playing for the Future
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Premium Tickets
http://www.calbearsshop.com/
swim caps
CAL ATHLETICS E-MAIL SIGN-UP