MEMBER SIGN IN
Don't have an account? Click Here


Michael Weaver and his father Bill at the 2012 U.S. Amateur (photo by USGA)
Courtesy: Cal Athletics
Five Cal Golfers Start U.S. Amateur Monday
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  08/11/2013

 @CalMensGolf
Websites: U.S. Amateur

BROOKLINE, Mass. – Five Cal golfers are among the 312 players in the starting field at the 113th U.S. Amateur that begins Monday and runs through Sunday at The Country Club. Brandon Hagy, Max Homa, Pace Johnson, Michael Kim and Michael Weaver begin 36 holes of stroke play scheduled for Monday and Tuesday.

The top 64 golfers after two rounds of a stroke play and a playoff if necessary that would happen Wednesday will advance to the first round of match play also slated for Wednesday. The second and third round of match play are scheduled for Thursday, followed by Friday’s quarterfinals, semifinals on Saturday and a 36-hole championship match Sunday.

Cal’s five players equal the number of Golden Bears had in the 2012 U.S. Amateur and are one short of the school record six Cal players in the 2010 event.

Weaver was the runner up at the 2012 U.S. Amateur to earn an invitation to the Masters and an exemption to the U.S. Open in 2013. Hagy made the semifinals, while Homa was in the Round of 32 two years after having reached the quarterfinals in 2010. Kim was in the Round of 64 last year.

CAL PLAYERS (First Round and Second Round Pairings and Starting Times)

Monday, August 12, 2013 (First Round)
7:25 a.m. ET/4:25 a.m. PT – Pace Johnson w/Adam Ball and Andrew Lister
7:45 a.m. ET/4:45 a.m. PT – Michael Kim w/Charlie Danielson and Wilson McDonald
7:50 a.m. ET/4:50 a.m. PT – Max Homa w/Nathan Kimsey and Scott Strohmeyer
1:20 p.m. ET/10:20 a.m. PT – Michael Weaver w/ Sam Straka and Jeremy Wall
1:50 p.m. ET/10:50 a.m. PT – Brandon Hagy w/Joe Kastelic and Blake Snyder

Tuesday, August 13 (Second Round)
7:50 a.m. ET/4:50 a.m. PT – Michael Weaver w/ Sam Straka and Jeremy Wall
8:20 a.m. ET/5:20 a.m. PT – Brandon Hagy w/Joe Kastelic and Blake Snyder
12:25 p.m. ET/9:25 a.m. PT – Pace Johnson w/Adam Ball and Andrew Lister
12:45 p.m. ET/9:45 a.m. PT – Michael Kim w/Charlie Danielson and Wilson McDonald
1:05 p.m. ET/10:05 a.m. PT – Max Homa w/Nathan Kimsey and Scott Strohmeyer


Cal Bears Men's Golf


advertisement
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Listen to Cal Games live online
Playing for the Future
Premium Tickets
Uploaded Ad
http://www.calbearsshop.com/
swim caps
CAL ATHLETICS E-MAIL SIGN-UP