Cal Softball Staff Honored at NFCA Convention
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  12/11/2012

Dec. 11, 2012

ORLANDO, FLA. - The Cal softball coaching staff, which guided the Golden Bears to a 58-7 overall record and a third place finish at the 2012 College World Series, was honored this past weekend at the National Fastpitch Coaches Association Convention in Orlando, Fla. Head coach Diane Ninemire was recognized at the Easton Victory Luncheon for achieving her 1100th win last season, while Cal's coaching staff that includes assistants Tammy Lohmann and John Reeves, was named the Pacific Region Coaching Staff of the Year.

In all, 31 coaching staffs in attendance at the annual Coaching Staff of the Year brunch were honored in front of their peers for their accomplishments over the past softball campaign. It was the second year in a row Ninemire and her staff were selected the Pacific Region Coaching Staff of the Year.

This past spring, the Bears set single-season records for most runs scored (422), RBI (376), homers (84), total bases (856) and the highest fielding percentage (.979). Not only did the 58 wins in 2012 set a record for a new team-high, but also topped the previous high of 56 wins, which was set by the 2002 NCAA championship team.

Cal spent the majority of the 2012 season ranked No. 1 in the nation and won is second-ever Pac-10/12 title (21-3) and its conference crown first since 1987. The Bears earned the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament and hosted postseason play (both NCAA Regional and Super Regional play) at Levine-Fricke Field for the first time since 1993.

After falling to Arkansas in the second game of the Berkeley Regional, Cal won its next five games to advance to its second-straight WCWS. In Oklahoma City, the Bears went 2-2 and advanced to the national semifinals.

Ninemire has now led Cal to 25 straight postseason appearances and 10 WCWS berths, including winning the 2002 national title. She has compiled an 1117-516 (.684) overall record in Berkeley since 1988.

In addition, the Bears had three players from the 2012 squad - junior catcher Lindsey Ziegenhirt, freshman infielder/outfielder Mary Lee and senior infielder Jace Williams - selection to the 2011-12 NFCA All-America Scholar-Athlete team.