Six former Cal players were involved in Sunday's Pro Bowl
Cal Athletics

Jordan and Gonzalez on Winning Team Rice in Pro Bowl

Team Rice pulls out 22-21 victory over Team Sanders.
By Cal Athletics on Sun, January 26, 2014

Related Links

 @CalFootball |  @CalCoachDykes |

HONOLULU – Former Cal football players Tony Gonzalez (Atlanta Falcons) and Cameron Jordan (New Orleans Saints) were on the winning Team Rice at the 2014 Pro Bowl on Sunday at Aloha Stadium. Team Rice scored the game-winning points in a 22-21 victory over Team Sanders when Mike Tolbert plunged into the end zone on a two-point conversion after Alex Smith had connected with DeMarco Murray for a 20-yard touchdown with 0:41 remaining.

Justin Tucker missed a 67-yard field goal on the game’s final play in an attempt to win the game for Team Sanders after missing on a 66-yarder earlier in the game.

Playing in his final NFL game the retiring Gonzalez caught three passes for 50 yards, including a 31-yarder from Philip Rivers that was the longest pass play of the day for Team Rice. Gonzalez was selected for the Pro Bowl 14 times in his illustrious 17-season NFL career.

Jordan started in his first Pro Bowl appearance and contributed a pair of tackles, including a 13-yard sack of Cam Newton in the second quarter. He also had a quarterback hurry.

Two other former Cal players – Ron Rivera (Carolina Panthers head coach) and Richard Rodgers Sr. (Carolina Panthers special teams coordinator) – were on the Team Rice coaching staff.

DeSean Jackson and Alex Mack played for Team Sanders

Playing in his third career Pro Bowl, Jackson caught three passes for 40 yards including the game’s opening score on a 36-yard touchdown pass in the first quarter from Andrew Luck on a flea-flicker. Jackson also recovered a Luck fumble and had a tackle after Newton’s pass intended for him was intercepted.

Mack played off the bench in his second career Pro Bowl.

Running back Marshawn Lynch (Seattle Seahawks) was also selected for the Pro Bowl for the fourth time in his career but unable to play with his Seahawks in Super Bowl XLVIII against the Denver Broncos at MetLife Stadium on Sunday, Feb. 2.

Under the new Pro Bowl format, players were selected in voting by fans, coaches and players regardless of conference. The selected players were then drafted by Pro Football Hall of Famers and alumni captains Deion Sanders and Jerry Rice last Tuesday and Wednesday.


Dress Your Pet 2015
Any Mountain
Playing for the Future Gilead
Inside the Locker Room
Muscle Milk Student Athlete of the Week