Cal head coach Kevin Grimes was named NSCAA Far West Region Coach of the Year on Tuesday

Grimes Named NSCAA Far West Region Coach of the Year

Grimes led California to their third NCAA quarterfinal in school history in 2013
By Cal Athletics on Tue, December 10, 2013

BERKELEY – The National Soccer Coaches Association of America and the California Golden Bears announced today that head coach Kevin Grimes has been named NSCAA Far West Region Coach of the Year. This marks the third time in his career that he has earned this distinction, after doing so in both 2002 and 2010. Grimes is now eligible, along with seven other regional Coach of the Year candidates, for NSCAA National Coach of the Year honors.

Grimes led the Bears to a 14-5-2 record in 2013, and the team reached the quarterfinals of the NCAA Tournament for the third time in school history, all during his tenure. Cal also held the national number one ranking for a six-week span, after opening the season with a 12-game unbeaten streak (10-0-2), which marked the first time in school history that the program has been ranked number one. The Bears also earned their highest tournament seed ever, as the fourth overall seed in the NCAA Tournament, which allowed them to host the quarterfinal round, another first.

Under Grimes’ watch in 2013, California has produced a MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalist in senior defender Steve Birnbaum, two NSCAA All-Far West Region first teamers (Birnbaum and fellow defender, junior Christian Dean), an NSCAA All-Far West third team selection (junior midfielder Seth Casiple), two All-Pac-12 first teamers (Birnbaum and Dean), four All-Pac-12 second team selections (Casiple, senior midfielder Alec Sundly, junior forward Stefano Bonomo and junior goalkeeper Justin Taillole), two All-Pac-12 honorable mentions (senior midfielders Connor Hallisey and Ryan Neil), as well as two Pac-12 All-Academic first team selections (junior midfielders Omid Jalali and Max Oldham), a second team Pac-12 All-Academic (Casiple) and six All-Academic honorable mentions (Birnbaum, Bonom, Sundly, Hallisey, senior defender Dylan Serrano and junior goalkeeper Kevin Peach).

About the NSCAA                                                                                                                                 Founded in 1941 and based in Kansas City, Kan., the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) is a non-profit organization with a mission to educate coaches, encourage excellence and serve the soccer community. The NSCAA is the world’s largest soccer coaches’ organization with members at every level of the game. The membership is primarily made up of coaches, but also includes administrators, referees and others in the soccer industry. The NSCAA provides its members ways to enhance the game of soccer by providing a national education program, interaction and networking opportunities, and membership benefits. For more information about the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, visit the NSCAA website at

2013 NSCAA NCAA Division I Men’s Regional Coaches of the Year

Region                   Name                                      School

South Atlantic        Ian Hennessey                     Delaware

Great Lakes          Damon Rensing                  Michigan State

Middle Atlantic      Dave Brandt                           U.S. Naval Academy

Northeast              Pete Caringi                          UMBC

Midwest                 Jim DeRose                          Bradley

South                      Doug Allison                         Furman

North Atlantic        Tom Giovatto                         St. Francis College (N.Y.)

Far West               Kevin Grimes                        California


Dress Your Pet 2015
Any Mountain
Playing for the Future Gilead
Inside the Locker Room
Muscle Milk Student Athlete of the Week