MEMBER SIGN IN
Don't have an account? Click Here


Cal Top Seed for CRC Championship Round
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  06/01/2013

June 1, 2013

Sunday Schedule: Quarterfinal vs. Arizona, 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT, Semifinal Cal/UA winner vs. Dartmouth/UCLA winner 3 p.m. ET/12 p.m. PT, Final 5:29 p.m. ET/2:29 p.m. PT | TV: NBC Sports Network live 11 a.m.-1 p.m. PT (NBCSN channel finder), NBC live 1-3 p.m. PT (listings guide) | Directions to PPL Park | CRC Homepage | Register as a Fan, Player or Parent | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube

PHILADELPHIA - The Golden Bears qualified as the No. 1 seed Saturday at PPL Park for Sunday's championship round of the Collegiate Rugby Championship, taking the top spot in Pool C and earning the top seed with the largest points total in the 20-team field thanks to a 10-5 victory over Kutztown that was followed by a 55-0 win against Temple.

California will play No. 8 seed Arizona at 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT in Sunday's championship quarterfinals; if the Bears win that match, Cal's semifinal will be against the winner of No. 4 Dartmouth vs. No. 5 UCLA at 3 p.m. ET/12 p.m. PT live on NBC Sports Network.

After the remaining teams are whittled down to one - with No. 2 Life vs. No. 7 Kutztown and No. 3 Penn State vs. No. 6 Navy in the other quarterfinals to set up the other semifinal - the Championship Final is at 5:29 p.m. ET/2:29 p.m. PT Sunday, televised live on NBC.

The Bears began their Saturday looking to match their width-seeking style against a big and physical Kutztown University. Cal kicked off and Danny Barrett leaped skyward to tap the ball back to his teammates, but freshman scrumhalf Russell Webb knocked the ball on to relinquish possession.

Kutztown went through a multi-phase attack with both teams trading penalties before Kutztown's Jamie Gregory scored the first try of the match. Tim Acker's conversion was no good for the home-state side, which had ample support competing in the stands with a vocal Cal contingent.

The second half started with Cal urgently pursuing points, and although Webb took a little more time to warm up with his second knock-on, the first-year player poached the ensuing Kutztown scrum and Jake Anderson soon found the try zone to tie the match.

Webb missed the conversion, keeping the score knotted at 5-5, and booted the restart kickoff directly out to put further pressure on the Bears. But the blue and gold refused to fold and Kelly delivered what proved to be the decisive blow with his 12th-minute try.

Sitting in the Pool C driver's seat but with their Sunday seed up in the air, the Bears finished their Saturday against hometown favorites Temple with a nine-try effort to end pool play with a tournament-best 110 points scored. Anderson and sophomore Russell Webb 3-for-4).

The Scoring Timeline vs. Kutztown

04:00 Kutztown (Jamie Gregory) 5

Halftime Score: Kutztown 5, California 0

10:00 Jake Anderson 5

12:00 Seamus Kelly 5

Final Score: California 10, Kutztown 5

The Team vs. Kutztown:

1. Barrett, 2. Harrington, 3. Kelly ©, 4. Webb, 5. Anderson, 6. Battaglia, 7. Tucker
Replacements: Barrientes

The Scoring Timeline vs. Temple:

01:00 Jake Anderson 2

02:00 Jake Anderson 5

04:00 Andre Coquillard 5

06:00 Patrick Barrientes 5

Halftime Score: California 22, Temple 0

08:00 Jake Anderson 5, 2

10:00 Nicklas Boyer 5

11:00 Danny Barrett 5, Russell Webb 2

12:00 Russell Webb 2

14:00 Russell Webb 2

Final Score: California 55, Temple 0

The Team vs. Temple:

1. Coquillard, 2. Battaglia, 3. Chehade, 4. Boyer, 5. Salaber, 6. Barrientes, 7. Anderson
Replacements: Chehade, Webb, Harrington

Friday Scores:
Kutztown 33, Temple 5
California 45, Virginia Tech 7
Dartmouth 34, Penn 0
Arizona 31, Wisconsin 17
UCLA 10, St. Joe's 5
Navy 57, Villanova 0
Notre Dame 27, NC State 5
Penn State 12, Northeastern 5
Life 33, Texas 5
Delaware 34, Florida 0

Saturday Scores:
Navy 40, St. Joe's 12
UCLA 41, Villanova 0
Dartmouth 29, Wisconsin
Virginia Tech 17, Temple 15
Penn State 48, NC State 7
Delaware 10, Texas 5
Arizona 26, Penn 5
Life 35, Florida 7
St. Joe's 48, Villanova 0
California 10, Kutztown 5
Penn State 26, Notre Dame 0
Dartmouth 21, Arizona 19
UCLA 12, Navy 7
Northeastern 15, NC State 12
Florida 22, Texas 7
Kutztown 37, Virginia Tech 0
California 55, Temple 0
Life 24, Delaware 12
Wisconsin 17, Penn 7
Notre Dame 22, Northeastern 12

Sunday Schedule:
California vs. Arizona, 10 a.m. PT/7 a.m. PT (Championship Quarterfinal)
Dartmouth vs. UCLA, 10:20 a.m./7:20 a.m. PT (Championship Quarterfinal)
Life vs. Kutztown, 10:40 a.m. ET/7:40 a.m. PT (Championship Quarterfinal)
Penn State vs. Navy, 11 a.m. ET/8 a.m. PT (Championship Quarterfinal)
California/Arizona winner vs. Dartmouth/UCLA winner, 3 p.m. ET/12 p.m. PT (Championship Semifinal)
Life/Kutztown winner vs. Penn State/Navy winner 3:25 p.m. ET/12:25 p.m. PT (Championship Semifinal)
Championship Final, 5:29 p.m. ET/2:29 p.m. PT


Cal Bears Rugby


advertisement
Register with Cal Rugby
Playing for the Future
Scholarshare BBall
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
The Next 100 Years of Cal Rugby
Premium Tickets
Cal Rugby Camps
Uploaded Ad
12 Days Of Giving calbearsshop.com
Uploaded Ad
CAL ATHLETICS E-MAIL SIGN-UP