Kirk Everist's Bears will be televised four times on the Pac-12 Networks.

Cal MWP Announces 2014 Schedule

Bears have four matches on the Pac-12 Networks
By Cal Athletics on Thu, June 19, 2014

BERKELEY The California men’s water polo team, which wrapped up last season winning its final two matches of the MPSF tournament and returns 14 letterwinners this fall, will be televised four times on the Pac-12 Networks during the 2014 campaign, head coach Kirk Everist and the Pac-12 Conference announced Thursday.

The Golden Bears’ four televised matches this fall include a non-conference match versus Navy on Friday, Sept. 26 at 12:30 a.m. at Spieker Aquatics Complex. On Saturday, Oct. 18 Cal will host UCLA in an MPSF tilt at Spieker Aquatics (time TBA). The annual Big Splash between Stanford and the Bears will also be televised on the Pac-12 Networks on Saturday, Nov. 8 at 11 a.m. at Spieker.

Finally, Cal’s Saturday, Nov. 15 match in Los Angeles at six-time defending NCAA champion USC will be shown on the Pac-12 Networks, beginning at 10:30 a.m.

The Bears’ 2014 schedule includes seven home matches at Spieker Aquatics Complex, including hosting a Sept. 13 Alumni match at 12 p.m. Besides the Oct. 18 UCLA match and the Nov. 8 Stanford contest, other MPSF league matches hosted at Cal will be 1 p.m. contests versus UC Santa Barbara Nov. 1 and Long Beach State Nov. 2.

Last season, the Bears defeated UC Irvine and Long Beach State in the MPSF Tournament after a first round loss to USC to end the 2013 campaign 18-8. The Bears had four All-Americans in 2013 – second-team All-American and 2012 Olympic bronze medalist (Serbia) Aleksa Saponjic, third-team All-Americans Collin Smith and team MVP Hunter Gettelfinger, and honorable mention All-American Colin Mulcahy.

Cal has a 229-58 (.798) all-time record at Spieker Aquatics Complex since Harmon Pool was renovated in 1982. Spieker Aquatics Complex hosted the NCAA Men’s Water Polo Championships in 2010 and 2011, and will again host the national championship tournament in 2015. The Bears have won an NCAA record 13 men’s water polo titles, including back-to-back titles under Everist in 2006 and 2007.


Dress Your Pet 2015
Any Mountain
Playing for the Future Gilead
Inside the Locker Room
Muscle Milk Student Athlete of the Week