Freshman Ryan Murphy won his second Pac-12 backstroke title Saturday.
Cal Athletics

Murphy Wins Another Title, Cal Takes Pac-12 Crown

Cal Again Wins Conference Meet
By Cal Athletics on Sat, March 08, 2014

FEDERAL WAY, WASH.  – Freshman Ryan Murphy won his second Pac-12 title and the Golden Bears captured their second consecutive conference crown in men’s swimming and diving Saturday (March 8) at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center in Federal Way, Wash. Cal finished with a commanding 786-661 advantage over second-place Stanford. USC was third (621) and Arizona fourth (596.5).

David Durden’s squad will next prepare for the NCAA championships, March 27-29 in Austin, Texas. The Bears were national runners-up in 2013 after winning NCAA team titles in 2011 and 2012. Cal won back-to-back conference team titles for the first time since the 1980 and 1981 seasons. In 2013, the Bears had snapped Stanford’s streak of 31 conference titles.

On Saturday, Murphy won the 200 back in a school-record time of 1:39.21, while sophomore Jacob Pebley placed second (1:40.38) and freshman Sven Campbell was fifth (1:43.16).

Other final swims for the Bears Saturday were sophomore sophomore Josh Prenot finishing second in the 200 breast (1:54.37), senior Ryan Studebaker seventh (1:56.40) and junior Chuck Katis was the B Final champion at 1:56.18.

Junior Will Hamilton was second in the 200 fly (1:43.13), freshman Long Gutierrez was third (1:43.64) and senior Marcin Tarczynski was fourth (1:43.75).

In the 100 free final, junior Seth Stubblefield was third (42.63), sophomore Tyler Messerschmidt was fourth (42.86) and junior Fabio Gimondi was fifth (43.12).

Finally, in the 1650 free Saturday, junior Adam Hinshaw placed third (15:01.04), freshman Janardan Burns was fifth (15:05.94) and senior Jeremy Bagshaw placed sixth (15:06.44).


Dress Your Pet 2015
Any Mountain
Playing for the Future Gilead
Inside the Locker Room
Muscle Milk Student Athlete of the Week