Don't have an account? Click Here

Senior Jeremy Bagshaw captured the distance events during Wednesday's Triple-Distance Meet versus Stanford.
Courtesy: Skip Stubbs
Cal Men Shine vs. Stanford in Triple-Distance Meet
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  11/06/2013

BERKELEY – Led by tri-event victories from senior Jeremy Bagshaw, senior Ryan Studebaker and sophomores Josh Prenot and Tyler Messerschmidt; the No. 3-ranked Cal men’s swimming team had an impressive performance in its Triple-Distance Meet versus No. 5 Stanford Wednesday (Nov. 6) afternoon at Spieker Aquatics Complex.

David Durden’s squad captured four of the six tri-distance events over the Cardinal. Bagshaw won the distance free events (15:17.14) with times of 1:40.48 in the 200 free, 4:28.65 in the 500 free and 9:08.01 in the 1000 free. Studebaker placed first in the breaststroke events (3:27.43) with marks of 26.04 in the 50 breast, 57.09 in the 100 breast and 2:04.30 in the 200 breast.

In the sprint freestyle category Messerschmidt placed first with a combined time of 2:43.03 – swimming a 20.21 in the 50 free, 44.15 in the 100 free and 1:38.67 in the 200 free. Finally Prenot, the 2013 Pac-12 Freshman of the Year, was the champion in the individual medley events with a mark of 6:33.03 - recording times of 51.46 in the 100 IM, 1:49.99 in the 200 IM and 3:51.58 in the 400 IM.

In a Triple-Distance Meet, athletes divide into specialty groups and compete with one another in three races to determine a specialty champion in each of swimming's six event domains: sprinters (50, 100, 200 free), distance swimmers (200, 500, 1000 free), butterflyers (50, 100, 200 butterfly), breaststrokers (50, 100, 200 breaststroke), backstrokers (50, 100, 200 backstroke) and individual medlyists (100, 200, 400 IM).

The Bears’ swimmers will next compete at the 2013 AT&T Winter Nationals, Dec. 5-7, in Knoxville, Tenn. The official Pac-12 dual meet between Cal and Stanford will be Saturday, Feb. 22 at 11 a.m. at Stanford’s Avery Aquatics Center.

The Bears will again vie for an NCAA crown in 2014, after winning the national crown in 2011 and 2012. Leading Cal will be two individual champions from 2012 – senior Marcin Tarczynski (200 individual medley) and junior Will Hamilton (200 butterfly) – plus four members (senior Shayne Fleming, juniors Seth Stubblefield and Fabio Gimondi, Messerschmidt) of title-winning relays. Additionally, Cal features standout sophomores Prenot and Jacob Pebley (third in the NCAAs in the 200 backstroke), plus star recruit Ryan Murphy, one of the nation’s top young backstrokers who was third in the 200 back at this summer’s U.S. national championships.

Cal Bears Men's Swimming & Diving

Playing for the Future
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Premium Tickets
Uploaded Ad grand opening