MEMBER SIGN IN
Don't have an account? Click Here


Michael Weaver and Brandon Hagy (photo by GoldenBearSports.com)
Courtesy: GoldenBearSports.com
Weaver and Hagy Make U.S. Amateur Match Play
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  08/13/2013

 @CalMensGolf
Websites: U.S. Amateur

BROOKLINE, Mass. – Michael Weaver (74-69 – 143, +3) and Brandon Hagy (72-71 – 143, +3) have made match play at the U.S. Amateur for the second consecutive season. Weaver reached the finals of the 2012 U.S. Amateur to earn an invitation to the Masters and an exemption to the U.S. Open in 2013. Hagy was a semifinalist in 2012.

The duo is among a group of 12 players tied for 38th place in the 2013 event after the conclusion of 36 holes of stroke play over the last two days. Both players were one stroke ahead of another group of 16 players that are tied for 50th. The final 14 match-play spots will be determined from the group of 16 in a playoff Wednesday that starts on the 14th hole at 7 a.m. ET/4 a.m. PT.

Once the 64 golfers are determined for the match-play field following the playoff, the first round of match play will take place Wednesday at The Country Club. Second and third-round match play is scheduled for Thursday with quarterfinals slated for Friday, semifinals on Saturday and a 36-hole championship match Sunday.

Golf Channel will televise two hours of action Wednesday (3-5 p.m. ET/Noon-2 p.m. PT), Thursday (Noon-2 p.m. ET/9-11 a.m. PT) and Friday (9-11 p.m. ET/6-8 p.m. PT) before NBC picks up coverage Saturday and Sunday from 4-6 p.m. ET/1-3 p.m. PT.

Weaver will play Greg Eason in his Round of 64 match scheduled to begin at 8:40 a.m. ET/5:40 a.m. PT, while Hagy is slated to square off against Ricardo Gouveia at 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT. Both matches will start on the first tee.

Weaver carded four birdies in his one-under par round Tuesday at the Charles River Country Club. He bogeyed his opening hole on the par-four 10th, but got into the red after birdies on the par-four 12th and par-three 14th. Weaver would make his second bogey on the par-four first hole to start his back nine but came back with two birdies over three holes for the second time in his round on the par-five second and par-three fourth. He bogeyed the par-four eighth on his second to last hole.

Hagy had 17 pars and a single bogey on the par-four seventh hole during his one-over par round.

Pace Johnson (T108th, 75-72 – 147, +7), Max Homa (T146th, 78-71 – 149, +9) and Michael Kim (T238th, 81-73 – 154, +14) all made significant improvements from their opening rounds Monday but did not qualify for match play. Cal’s five players at the 113th U.S. Amateur were one shy of the school-record six that competed in 2010 and equaled the five Golden Bears in the 2012 event.

INDIVIDUAL STROKE-PLAY CO-MEDALISTS (after 2 of 2 days of stroke play/2 of 2 rounds of stroke play/36 of 36 holes of stroke play)
T1. Neil Raymond 67-67 – 134 (-6)
T1. Brady Watt 68-66 – 134 (-6)

CAL PLAYERS (after 2 of 2 days of stroke play/2 of 2 rounds of stroke play/36 of 36 holes of stroke play)
T38. Brandon Hagy 72-71 – 143 (+3)
T38. Michael Weaver 74-69 – 143 (+3)
T108. Pace Johnson 75-72 – 147 (+7)
T146. Max Homa 78-71 – 149 (+9)
T238. Michael Kim 81-73 – 154 (+14)

CAL PLAYERS (Round of 64 Pairings and Start Times)
Wednesday, August 14
8:40 a.m. ET/5:40 a.m. PT – Michael Weaver vs. Greg Eason
10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT – Brandon Hagy vs. Ricardo Gouveia


Cal Bears Men's Golf


advertisement
Playing for the Future
Scholarshare BBall
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Premium Tickets
Uploaded Ad
12 Days Of Giving calbearsshop.com
Uploaded Ad
CAL ATHLETICS E-MAIL SIGN-UP