MEMBER SIGN IN
Don't have an account? Click Here


Bears Ready to Make History at U.S. Open
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  06/12/2013

June 12, 2013

Event Coverage
Cal Bears Blog: Magic Continues at U.S. Open
Cal Clips

Thursday's Live Television, Video and Radio Coverage
Television
ESPN (9 a.m. - 3 p.m. ET/6 a.m. - Noon PT; 5-7 p.m. ET/2-4 p.m. PT)
NBC (3-5 p.m. ET/Noon - 2 p.m. PT.)

Video
USOpen.com (Marquee Group 1 - 7:11 a.m. ET/4:11 a.m. PT; Marquee Group 2 - 1:14 p.m. ET/10:14 a.m. PT)

Radio
ESPN Radio (10 a.m. - 4 p.m. ET/7 a.m. - 1 p.m. PT)

ARDMORE, Pa. - The 2012-13 Cal men's golf team will make history again Thursday when three of its members get underway at the 2013 U.S. Open at the Merion Golf Club's East Course. Max Homa, Michael Kim and Michael Weaver are believed to be the first trio of players ever from the same collegiate team to play in the same U.S. Open.

The three spent Wednesday making final preparations for the historic undertaking. Weaver played the back nine of the course with pros Morten Orum Madsen and Thorbjorn Olesen, as well as fellow amateur Grayson Murray. After his trip around the back half of Merion, he worked on his putting and hit a few balls in what he termed "a pretty quiet day."

"I'm looking forward to playing," Weaver said. "I know it will be difficult, so I just want to go out there and have fun and enjoy the experience. I feel like I'm playing well so I will go out there tomorrow and see what happens."

Homa played a practice round Wednesday with pro Bo Van Pelt and is excited for Thursday's opening round.

"Tomorrow will be a blast and a dream come true," Homa said. "I can't wait to get out there."

Kim spent his final day before the start of the U.S. Open playing a practice round with pros K.J. Choi and Sang-Moon Bae. Kim also played with Choi on Tuesday.

"I'm just really excited for tomorrow," Kim said. "I've been waiting for this ever since I qualified and can't wait. Hopefully, I can get off to a good start."

Kim will be the first Cal player to get underway Thursday at 8:24 a.m. ET/5:24 a.m. PT, teeing off from the first hole along with Shawn Stefani and Nicholas Thompson. Weaver will play with Michael Thompson and Casey Wittenberg and start from the 11th hole at 1:29 p.m. ET/10:29 a.m. PT. Homa begins from the first hole at 2:20 p.m. ET/11:20 a.m. PT, with his partners Russell Knox and Matt Bettencourt.

"It will be a great honor to have three Bears introduced on the tees tomorrow," head coach Steve Desimone said. "It's something that has never happened before. There's a lot of excitement heading into tomorrow knowing this record-setting team is going to be setting another record that has stood the test of time forever. I'm very excited for Michael Kim, Michael Weaver and Max Homa. This is very deserving. All three are great, great players. They have great careers in front of them. This is just another step in what will be their eventual destinies."

All groups will play together again Friday.

Weaver's threesome will be the first off from the first hole at 7:29 a.m. ET/4:29 a.m. PT. Homa's group will start from the 11th hole at 8:50 a.m. ET/5:50 a.m. PT, while Kim's trio starts from the 11th hole at 2:24 p.m. ET/11:24 a.m. PT.

The pairings and tee times for Saturday's third round will be announced after the cut following the completion of second-round action Friday.

Homa and Kim earned spots in the 2013 U.S. Open during sectional qualifying, while Weaver received an exemption by finishing as the 2012 U.S. Amateur runner-up.

Each member of the trio was instrumental in Cal's 2012-13 season when the Bears won 12 of 14 stroke-play tournaments to set a modern-era NCAA single-season win record previously established with the 10 victories recorded by the 1985-86 Oklahoma State team. Cal was ranked No. 1 in the final 2012-13 team rankings by both Golfweek and Golfstat despite losing to Illinois in the semifinals of the NCAA Championship.

"It's amazing how many people know about the success of our program over the last few years and the great comments I've had," Desimone added. "There's been a few `Go Bears!' It's fantastic."

Live television coverage of the 2013 U.S. Open will be provided by ESPN and NBC, while USOpen.com will stream live video of certain marquee groups and ESPN Radio will handle the radio call.


Cal Bears Men's Golf


advertisement
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Listen to Cal Games live online
Playing for the Future
Premium Tickets
Uploaded Ad
http://www.calbearsshop.com/
swim caps
CAL ATHLETICS E-MAIL SIGN-UP