3 Cal Teams Earn NCAA Recognition for APR Scores
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  06/05/2013

June 5, 2013

BERKELEY - Three of Cal's intercollegiate athletic programs - men's and women's tennis and women's gymnastics - received public recognition for their high achievement in the latest multiyear Academic Program Rate scores, the NCAA announced Wednesday.

The men's tennis team earned the honor for the third year in a row, while women's tennis was acknowledged for the second straight time.

The NCAA awards public recognition to teams that have posted multiyear APR scores in the top 10 percent of all squads in their sport every spring. Both tennis teams as well as women's gymnastics posted scores of 1,000 - the highest possible in the rating system. Wednesday's announcement brings Cal's total to 13 publicly recognized teams over the past four years.

In addition to their success in the classroom, each of these Golden Bear programs also performed well in the athletic arena in 2012-13. Women's tennis reached the quarterfinals, men's tennis advanced to the NCAA Round of 16, and women's gymnastics earned a berth to the NCAA regionals for the first time since 2007.

Individually, Campbell Johnson and Christoffer Konigsfeldt were tabbed the Pac-12 Men's Doubles Team of the Year, with Johnson earning Pac-12 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year honors. Amanda Augustus was voted the ITA Northwest Region Women's Tennis Coach of the Year, and Justin Howell was named the Pac-12 Women's Gymnastics Coach of the Year with Serena Leong selected as the Pac-12 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year. Additionally, a combined 12 student-athletes received conference all-academic honors.

Each year, the NCAA tracks the classroom performance of student-athletes on every Division I team through the annual scorecard of academic achievement, known as APR. The rate measures eligibility, graduation and retention each semester or quarter and provides a clear picture of the academic performance in each sport. The most recent APRs are multi-year rates based on scores from the 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11 and 2011-2012 academic years.