Tradition of Cal Men's Tennis

From its founding in 1892 to the present day, the men's tennis program at the University of California has enjoyed a long and proud tradition of excellence.

The Bears have been a force on the national collegiate tennis scene since 1925, when Cal won its first national team title. Cal swept the national championships that year, as Bud Chandler brought the Bears their first national singles title while Gervais Hillis and Gerald Stratford's completed the tennis triple crown with a national doubles championship. In 1926, Cal finished fifth in the nation as a team, with Chandler successfully defending his singles title, then teaming with Tom Stow (Cal's head coach from 1933-46) to capture the doubles championship.

Cal has been ranked among the nation's Top 10 teams 21 times since 1925, including seven seasons in which the Bears finished among the nation's top three. A total of 18 Golden Bear players have won national championships, bringing home a collective four singles and 13 doubles national titles. Since 1980 alone, the Bears have won two national team indoor titles (1980 and '89) two national singles titles ('80 and '85) and two NCAA Doubles Championships ('90 and '91).

That tradition of excellence extends to the Golden Bear coaching staff as well, as several former players found their own national success before guiding the champions of the future. In 1980, eventual head coach Scott McCain won the ITCA All-American Championship, a feat duplicated five years later by his pupil, Steve DeVries. A member of the Cal's '80 national indoor championship squad, McCain coached his own Cal team to the national indoor title in 1989, and guided Matt Lucena to NCAA doubles titles in 1990 (with partner Doug Eisenman) and '91 (with partner Bent-Ove Pedersen).