Niven Named to Scotland's World Amateur Team
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  08/25/2008

Aug. 25, 2008

BERKELEY, Calif. - California junior Roseanne Niven has been selected to represent Scotland at the World Amateur Team Championship Oct. 8-10 at Grange Golf Club in Adelaide, Australia. More than 50 women's teams will be competing for the Espirito Santo Trophy.

"The team was going to be announced today at 12 o'clock, but they had to call me last night because they knew I was leaving the next morning really early (to come back to Berkeley)," Niven said. "I was so happy. I was trying not to get my hopes up, but I knew I had a very good chance of making the team."

Niven and her fellow countrywomen, Krystle Caithness and Kylie Walker, complete Scotland's team. Pamela Pretswell and Kelsey MacDonald are the reserves.

Last week, Niven defeated Walker in a sudden death playoff for the Ladies British Open Amateur Stroke Play Championship in Ireland.

"I started off the summer at the British Match Play and played pretty well there," Niven said. "I made it to the semis, but I knew I could have gotten further. I had a few tournaments in between that I did alright at. When I got to the British Stroke Play, I knew that I could win it because I had come so close at the start of the summer. It was incredible. I'm still on a high from it. It was such a good day. On the last day, I played 36 holes. I had a good first round, and in the afternoon, I went out and played some of my best golf. It's my best win by far."

Cal has a history of sending players to the World Amateur Team Championship, which takes place every two years in different countries. At the 2004 event in Puerto Rico, Claire Dury competed for New Zealand, Sofie Andersson played for Sweden and Sarah Huarte - the 2004 NCAA champion - represented the United States.

"It's good to be back and to see everybody at Cal," Niven said. "I have a good feeling about this year and the new Cal team. I am excited for this year."

Cal opens the 2008 season at the Ptarmigan Ram Fall Classic Sept. 8-9 in Fort Collins, Colo. The Bears won the 2007 Ram Fall Classic by 19 shots over Washington State.