Don't have an account? Click Here
Teg Agu News Graphic

Ed White Inducted to College Football Hall of Fame
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  06/21/1999

April 9, 1999

College Football Hall of Fame Press Conference Audio.

BERKELEY, Calif. - Former Cal All-American lineman Ed White was named today as one of 12 players and three coaches to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. The formal induction will take place on December 7, 1999 at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City.

The announcement was made this afternoon by the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Honors Court Chairman Gene Corrigan in South Bend, IN.

White becomes the 20th Cal player or coach to be inducted into the prestigious Hall of Fame. The last to be inducted from the school was quarterback Craig Morton in 1992. Other Cal athletes and coaches in the Hall of Fame are Stan Barnes, Vic Bottari, Sam Chapman, Rod Franz, Walter Gordon, Matt Hazeltine, Bob Herwig, Babe Horrell, Bill Ingram, Jackie Jensen, Dan McMillan, Eggs Manske, Brick Muller, John Ralston, Les Richter, Buck Shaw, Andy Smith and Pappy Waldorf.

The new Cal inductee was pleased to be informed of his induction. "This is truly a great honor and I'm just thrilled to be a part of the College Hall of Fame," said White. "It makes it even more special to be able to celebrate while I'm back here at Cal, particularly with my line coach Bill Dutton (who is currently an assistant coach on Cal's staff).

"I really was stunned when I found out. It's just a wonderful honor."

White, who lettered at Cal three seasons from 1966-68 was a key element in Cal's 1968 "Bear Minimum" defense that allowed only five rushing touchdowns all season, giving up an average of just 10.4 points per game and 252.2 yards per contest. He was a consensus All-America in his senior season that year.

After moving to the offensive line in the pros, White earned all-pro honors several times during his 17-year playing career. His 241 games played in the NFL is the 11th highest total in NFL history.

The other players inducted along with White are Ross Browner of Notre Dame, Chuck Dicus of Arkansas, Chris Gilbert of Texas, John Hannah of Alabama, Billy Kilmer of UCLA, Steve Kiner of Tennessee, Chuck Long of Iowa, Frank Loria of Virginia Tech, Joe Palumbo of Virginia, Greg Pruitt of Oklahoma and Herschel Walker of Georgia. The coaches inducted are Jerry Claiborne (Virginia Tech, Maryland, Kentucky), Don Coryell (Whittier, San Diego State) and Jim Young (Arizona, Purdue, Army).

Cal Bears Football

Playing for the Future
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Premium Tickets summer 15 rail
College Colors Day App