Clarendon: All-American Honorable Mention
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  04/02/2012

April 2, 2012


Junior guard Layshia Clarendon, who was one of four regional finalists for the top honors awarded by the Women's Basketball Coaches' Association, earned an honorable mention when the 10-member team was announced.

A First Team All-Pac-12 selection, Clarendon averaged a team-best 12.6 points per game for the Bears this season. She became the most recent member of Cal's 1,000 point club earlier this season and currently ranks No. 12 on the school's career point list with 1,197 points in her 104-game career. The junior scored 20 points to go along with three steals against No. 2 Stanford in the Pac-12 Championship game en route to earning all-tournament honors. She scored 33 points during the Bears NCAA Tournament run, including 16 in the victory over Iowa.

This is the first All-American honorable mention for Clarendon.

Top-ranked Baylor and No. 2 Stanford both placed two players on the 2012 WBCA Division I Coaches' All-America Team. The 10-member team was decided from a group of 52 finalists by the selection committee at an in-person meeting held during the 2012 WBCA National Convention.

The members of the 2012 NCAA Division I State Farm Coaches' All-America Basketball Team are as follows:
Elena Delle Donne, University of Delaware
Skylar Diggins, University of Notre Dame
Brittney Griner, Baylor University
Bria Hartley, University of Connecticut
Glory Johnson, University of Tennessee
Shenise Johnson, University of Miami
Chiney Ogwumike, Stanford University
Nnemkadi Ogwumike, Stanford University
Odyssey Sims, Baylor University
Alyssa Thomas, University of Maryland

The honorable mentions were: Anne Marie Armstrong (Georgia), LaSondra Barrett (Louisiana State), Alex Bentley (Penn State), Ashlee Brown (Utah State), Katie Bussey (Montana State), Devyn Christensen (Utah State), Layshia Clarendon (California), Courtney Clements (San Diego State), Jerica Coley (Florida International), Carolyn Davis (Kansas), Christina Foggie (Vanderbilt), Jennifer George (Florida), Angel Goodrich (Kansas), Chelsea Gray (Duke), Jasmine Hassell (Georgia), Tiffany Hayes (UConn), Tayler Hill (Ohio State), Jordan Hooper (Nebraska), Tavelyn James (Eastern Michigan), Jasmine Lee (Memphis), Anna Martin (DePaul, A'dia Mathies (Kentucky), Nadirah McKenith (St. John's), Natalie Novosel (Notre Dame), Courtney Osborn (Miami), Shey Peddy (Temple), Devereaux Peters (Notre Dame), Chelsea Poppens (Iowa State), Samantha Prahalis (Ohio State), Sugar Rodgers (Georgetown), Alexis Rogers (Bowling Green), Ebony Rowe (Middle Tennessee State), Shoni Schimmel (Louisville), Chay Shegog (North Carolina), Shenneika Smith (St. John's), Kayla Standish (Gonzaga), Da'Shena Stevens (St. John's), Tyra White (Texas A&M), Destiny Williams (Baylor), Elizabeth Williams (Duke), Riquna Williams (Miami), Julie Wojta (Wisconsin-Green Bay).

For more information, visit the WBCA website