Don't have an account? Click Here
Teg Agu News Graphic

12 Bears Earn Pac-10 All-Academic Honors
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  11/20/2003

Nov. 20, 2003

BERKELEY - California had 10 football players selected to the first- and second-team Pac-10 All-Academic squads, the conference office announced Thursday.

Five players earned first-team honors, while five addition players were on the second unit. In addition, two players claimed honorable mention.

Gaining first-team status were -
OG Jonathan Giesel - junior, 3.38 GPA in religious studies
OT Chris Murphy - senior, 3.51 GPA in political science
DE Monte Parson - senior, 3.37 GPA in sociology
SAF Mike McGrath - junior, 3.40 GPA in mechanical engineering
P Tyler Fredrickson - senior, 4.00 GPA (as a grad student) in education

The five players on the second team were -
C Nolan Bluntzer - senior, 3.02 GPA in conservation and resource studies
OL Derek Joyce - junior, 3.34 GPA in molecular and cell biology
DT Tom Sverchek - junior, 3.17 GA in American studies
LB Brian Tremblay - junior, 3.25 GPA in American studies
DB Ryan Foltz - sophomore, 3.48 GPA in business administration

The two players earning honorable mention were deep snapper Matt Currin and fullback Byron Storer.

In addition to their Pac-10 honor, Murphy, McGrath and Fredrickson were voted to the Academic All-District team, which includes nine Western states, last week.

For a look at the complete Pac-10 All-Academic team, click here.

Cal Bears Football

Playing for the Future
Scholarshare BBall
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Premium Tickets
Uploaded Ad
12 Days Of Giving
Uploaded Ad