Five Cal Players Earn Pac-10 All-Academic Honors
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  11/16/2005

Nov. 16, 2005

BERKELEY - Five members of the No. 9 California men's soccer team earned Pac-10 All-Academic honors announced Wednesday by Commissioner Tom Hansen.

Pieter Berger, Calen Carr, Tyson Wahl and Andrew Felder were named to the Pac-10 All-Academic first-team, while Matt Holtrust was named to the All-Academic second team.

Berger, a senior midfielder who is majoring in American studies, earned his third first-team honor in as many years. Berger was also recently named to ESPN The Magazine's Academic All-District VIII men's soccer team.

Carr, a senior forward, and a mass communications major, received his second consecutive first-team All-Academic honor. In 2002, the Berkeley native received All-Academic honorable mention. Carr is currently leading the conference in seven categories, including goals (11) and game-winning goals (6).

Senior Tyson Wahl's first-team honor marks the first of his career. Wahl, who will be graduating with a degree in sociology, was named to the All-Academic second team for 2004 and 2003. The Newport Beach native was also recently named to ESPN The Magazine's Academic All-District VIII men's soccer team.

Andrew Felder, a redshirt junior and mass communications major, earned All-Academic Pac-10 first-team honors for the first time in his career, after being named to the All-Academic second team in 2004 and earning All-Academic honorable mention in 2003.

Matt Holtrust, a junior forward who is majoring in political science, was named to the All-Academic Pac-10 second team, after earning honorable mention All-Academic recognition in 2004.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.

Cal has earned a No. 7 seed, first-round bye and home-field advantage for the upcoming 48-team NCAA College Cup, announced Monday afternoon. The Bears (13-3-2) will host the second round on Tuesday, Nov. 22 at 1:30 p.m. at Edwards Stadium and will play the winner of the Santa Clara (12-6-2) and Ohio State (11-7-2) game, which is being hosted by Santa Clara, Nov. 18 at 7 p.m.


First Team

Pieter Berger, CAL*** Sr. American Studies
Scott Bolkan, STAN So. Undeclared
Calen Carr, CAL* RS Sr. Mass Communications
Evan Corey, UCLA Sr. Geography
Chris Eylander, WASH* Sr. Engineering
Andrew Felder, CAL RS Jr. Mass Communications
Brett Gardner, OSU So. Business Administration
Bryan Jordan, OSU*Jr. Business Administration
Dan Shapiro, STAN So. Undeclared
Bret Shimizu, STAN Jr. Management Science & Engineering
Tyson Wahl, CAL Sr. Sociology

Second Team Michael Brown, STAN Jr. 3.35 Urban Studies Tally Hall, SDSU Jr. Kinesiology Ty Harden, WASH* Jr.? Business Matthew Holtrust, CAL Sr. Political Science Jeff Hoover, WASH Sr. Engineering Cooper McKee, STAN Sr. Urban Studies Lucas Mehring, UCLA Jr. History Evan Morgan, STAN So. Undeclared Ryan Oblak, STAN RS Fr. Math & Computer Science Eric Reed, UCLA Jr. Religion Galen Thompson, STAN Jr. Religious Studies

* - two-time all-academic selection ** - three-time all-academic selection

HONORABLE MENTION:Alex Christensen, So., OSU; David Dally, So., SDSU; Packy Deenihan, RS FR., OSU; Greg Folk, So., UCLA; Kyle Hency, RS So., STAN; Luke Sager, RS Fr., STAN; Mason Webb, So., OSU; Michael Zaher, So., UCLA.