Calen Carr Named 2005 Pac-10 Player of the Year, Head Coach Kevin Grimes Named Pac-10 Coach of the Year
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  11/18/2005

Nov. 18, 2005

BERKELEY - California's senior forward Calen Carr has been named the 2005 Pac-10 Player of the Year, and head coach Kevin Grimes has been named the 2005 Pac-10 Coach of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Carr, a senior forward and co-captain from Berkeley, finished the regular season leading the conference in seven categories: shots (70), shots per game (3.89), points (26), points per game (1.44), goals (11), goals per game (0.61) and game-winning goals (6). Carr also ranks among the top-10 in assists (t8th, 4) and assists per game (9th, 0.22). Named to the Soccer America Team of the Week for Sept. 21, Carr is the first player in head coach Grimes' six-year tenure to record 10 or more goals in one season. He has helped guide the Bears to second place in the Pac-10 with a 6-3-1 conference record, as well as a 13-3-2 overall mark. Carr also earned 2005 Pac-10 All-Academic first-team honors for the second consecutive year, and was a first-team All-Pac-10 selection in 2004 and an honorable mention selection in 2002.

In his sixth year at Cal, Grimes led the Bears to a second-place Pac-10 finish, while earning a No. 7 seed and a first-round bye heading into the NCAA Tournament. Cal's bid sets a program record of five consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances and marks the first time the Bears have gone into the playoffs seeded since 2002, when they earned a No. 14 seed. Cal finished the season ranked nationally in several categories. They are second in shots on goals save percentage (0.868), fourth in team goals-against average (0.54), seventh in won-lost-tied percentage (0.778) and tied for 19th in shutout percentage (0.53). Grimes boasts an overall record of 67-44-11 at Cal, and is only one of four Cal men's soccer coaches to reach 50 wins at Berkeley.

Eight Players Earn All-Pac-10 Honors
Eight Cal players earned All-Pac-10 honors for 2005. Seniors Carr, Tyson Wahl and sophomore Andrew Jacobson were named to the All-Pac-10 first team, while senior Eric Kronberg and junior Steve Purdy were named to the All-Pac-10 second team. Earning All-Pac-10 honorable mention were senior Pieter Berger, junior Eric Ebert, and sophomore Luke Sassano. Carr and Wahl are three-time All-Pac-10 honorees, while Kronberg and Purdy are two-time honorees.



Name Pos. Yr. School Calen Carr** F Sr. CAL Robert Findley** F Jr. OSU Tally Hall GK Jr. SDSU Ty Harden** D Jr. WASH Kamani Hill* F So. UCLA Patrick Ianni** MF Jr. UCLA Andrew Jacobson MF So. CAL Ryan Johnson** F/MF Sr. OSU Eric Reed* GK Jr. UCLA Tyson Wahl** D Sr. CAL Marvell Wynne D So. UCLA


Name Pos. Yr. School Ely Allen* F So. WASH Jonathan Bornstein F Sr UCLA Mike Chabala* MF Sr. WASH Kraig Chiles MF So. SDSU Matt Couch D Sr. SDSU Jordan Harvey* D Sr. UCLA Eric Kronberg* GK Sr. CAL Cooper McKee* MF Sr. STAN Brandon Owens* D Jr. UCLA Steven Purdy* D/MF Jr. CAL Sal Zizzo MF/F Fr. UCLA

*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree **three-time All-Pac-10 honoree

HONORABLE MENTION (received votes): Alex Asai (Sr., D, OSU); Pieter Berger (Sr., F, CAL); Scott Bolkan (So., D, STAN); Michael Brown (Jr., MF, STAN); Heath Creager (Sr., F, SDSU); Evan Cummings (Sr., MF, WASH); Eric Ebert (Jr., MF, CAL); Lucas Egenwall (So., MF, OSU); Chris Eylander (Sr., GK, WASH); Bret Gardner (So., D/MF, OSU); Brett Hite (So., F, WASH); Jeff Hoover (Sr., D/MF, WASH); Andrew Kartunen (Jr., GK, STAN); Daniel Leach (Fr., D, OSU); T.J. Novak (Fr., MF/F, STAN); Brad Rusin (Fr., D, UCLA); Marcus Ryan (So., MF, STAN); Eric Santiago (Sr., D, SDSU); Luke Sassano (So., MF/F, CAL); Dan Shapiro (So., F, STAN); Leo Totev (Sr., MF, WASH).