Cody Moore Named Finalist for Nissen-Emery Award
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  03/17/2003

March 17, 2003

California men's gymnastics senior Cody Moore has been named one of eight finalists for the Nissen-Emery Award, which is annually presented to the nation's most outstanding senior male collegiate gymnast. The winner will be announced prior to the 2003 NCAA Championships in Philadelphia, April 11-13.

Looking to be the first Golden Bear to receive the "Heisman Trophy" of gymnastics, the Scottsdale, AZ native is the 15th Cal gymnast to be listed as a finalist in the award's 38-year existence. Moore, an eight-time All-American and defending parallel bars national champion, is Cal's first finalist since 1998 when Evgenii Zherebchevskiy (1997-98) was among the six finalists.

A two-time MPSF Gymnast of the Year (2001-02), Moore holds three personal marks that are the third-best in school history: parallel bars (9.850), floor (9.850) and pommel horse (9.900). Other individual career bests include rings (9.550), vault (9.550), high bar (9.750) and all-around (57.700). Last season he was selected to the US National team following an outstanding all-around performance at the Winter Cup Challenge (52.850).

A highly decorated gymnast, Moore looks to join Cal assistant coach Kip Simons who won the 1994 Nissen Award while a student-athlete at Ohio State University.

From 1966 through 1989 the award nomination, selection and presentation process was managed by the Nissen Company. IBM sponsored the award in 1990. USA Gymnastics sponsored the award from 1991-97. In 1998, Dr. Robert W. Emery, the 1969 winner, agreed to help the C.G.A. finance the redesigning of the Award and establish an endowment that would indefinitely cover the annual expenses associated with it.

The Nissen-Emery Award does not only honor the collegiate senior gymnast who has established an outstanding record of achievement during his college career. More than simply an award for gymnastics excellence, the winner must also meet these requirements: - He must be an example of good sportsmanship and fair play ... a champion in defeat as well as in victory - He must maintain a high standard of scholarship throughout his college career

College gymnastics coaches, student athletes and accredited college gymnastics judges all across the nation are requested each year to submit nominations for the award. Gymnasts receiving the highest number of nominations are then placed on a final ballot and voted upon by those same coaches, athletes and judges.

The award is inscribed with the motto: "The true champion seeks excellence physically, mentally, socially and morally."

Four fellow Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) gymnasts are in the final eight. Below is a complete list of the 2003 Nissen-Emery Award Finalists:

Raj Bhavsar, Ohio State
Kevin Donohue, PSU
Marshall Erwin, Stanford (MPSF)
Daniel Furney, Oklahoma (MPSF)
Aaron Jackson, Air Force (MPSF)
Cody Moore, California (MPSF)
Cameron Schick, Iowa
Clay Strother, Minnesota