Don't have an account? Click Here

Nine Men's Water Polo Players Selected MPSF All-Academic
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  01/08/2008

Jan. 8, 2008

WOODLAND, CALIF. - The 2007 University of California men's water polo team, winners of back-to-back NCAA titles, had nine players recognized by The Mountain Pacific Sports Federation as members of the 2007 All-Academic Team, it was announced today by MPSF executive director Al Beaird.

Senior captain Adam Haley, senior Michael Sharf, senior Jeff Tyrrell highlight the group - which also includes sophomores Scott Cruikshank, Mike Sample, Grant Mitchell and Andrew Nesbit, and redshirt freshmen Brian Dudley and Daniel Orloff - who were all noted by the MPSF for their academic achievements. To be eligible for the MPSF All-Academic Team, an athlete must have a 3.0 or better cumulative GPA, must be at least a sophomore academically, and must have competed in fifty percent or more of a team's matches.

Haley, Sharf and Tyrrell were recently selected to the 2007 Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches All-America Team. Sharf, also a finalist for the 2007-08 Peter J. Cutino Award as the nation's top male collegiate water polo player and the 2007 NCAA Tournament MVP, was tabbed as a first-team All-American. Haley was named a second-team All-American, and Tyrrell was selected as a third-team All-American.

Under the direction of head coach Kirk Everist, the Golden Bears finished the 2007 campaign 28-4, winning the NCAA title for the second year in a row with an 8-6 victory over USC on Dec. 2 at Stanford's Avery Aquatic Center. Cal, which had defeated the Trojans, 7-6, in the 2006 national title match, captured its NCAA-record 13th national crown this season.

Cal Bears Men's Water Polo

Playing for the Future
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Premium Tickets
Uploaded Ad grand opening