Andre Carter, Nick Harris Named 1st Team All-Pac-10
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  11/27/2000

Nov. 27, 2000

Berkeley, CA - Cal defensive end Andre Carter and punter Nick Harris were named first team All-Pacific-10 on Monday (November 27) by the conference office. It was the second consecutive season that each earned first team all-conference honors.

Carter was edged out in a close vote for the conference Defensive Player of the Year as Arizona State linebacker Adam Archeleta earned five votes for the honor compared to four votes for Carter. Stanford linebacker Riall Johnson picked up the lone other vote.

Carter enjoyed a brilliant senior season with a school record 13.5 sacks and 19.5 tackles behind the line of scrimmage. He has earned several post-season honors including being named one of five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Award, given to the nation's top defensive player. He has also earned first team All-America honors as named by the Football Writer's Association, Football News, the Football Coaches Association and the Walter Camp Foundation.

Harris earned first team All-America honors as named by the Walter Camp Foundation the Football Coaches Association.

Three other Cal players earned second team honors as junior offensive guard Brandon Ludwig, senior defensive tackle Jacob Waasdorp and sophomore return specialist Jemeel Powell were voted onto the Pac-10 second team.

Seven Cal players earned honorable mention Pac-10 accolades. They were senior offensive lineman Reed Diehl, sophomore tailback Joe Igber, sophomore Jemeel Powell - this time as a cornerback, senior cornerback Chidi Iwuoma, junior linebacker Scott Fujita, sophomore linebacker Matt Nixon and redshirt-freshman offensive tackle Mark Wilson.


First Team Offense Second Team Offense QB Marques Tuiasosopo, Sr., Washington QB Joey Harrington, Jr., Oregon RB Ken Simonton, Jr., Oregon State RB Maurice Morris, Jr., Oregon RB DeShaun Foster, Jr., UCLA RB Sultan McCullough, So., USC WR DeRonnie Pitts, Sr., Stanford WR Milton Wynn, Jr., Washington State WR Freddie Mitchell, Jr., UCLA WR T.J. Houshmandzadeh, Sr., Oregon State TE Todd Heap, Jr., Arizona State TE Jerramy Stevens, So., Washington OL Chris Gibson, Jr., Oregon State OL Lee Gundy, Sr., Oregon OL Victor Leyva, Sr., Arizona State OL Eric Heitmann, Jr., Stanford OL Scott Peters, Jr., Arizona State OL Mitch White, Sr., Oregon State OL Elliot Silvers, Sr., Washington OL Marques McFadden, Sr., Arizona OL Chad Ward, Sr., Washington OL Levi Jones, Jr., Arizona State x OL Brandon Ludwig, So., California

First Team Defense Second Team Defense DE Andre Carter, Sr., California DE Saul Patu, Sr., Oregon DT Willie Howard, Sr., Stanford DT Jacob Waasdorp, Sr., California DT Larry Tripplett, Jr., Washington DT Ennis Davis, Sr., USC DE DeLawrence Grant, Sr., Oregon State DE Joe Tafoya, Sr., Arizona LB Adam Archuleta, Sr., Arizona State LB Zeke Moreno, Sr., USC LB Lance Briggs, So., Arizona LB Darnell Robinson, Sr., Oregon State LB Riall Johnson, Sr., Stanford LB Robert Thomas, Sr., UCLA DB Dennis Weathersby, So., Oregon State DB Curtis Williams, So., Washington DB Rashad Bauman, Jr., Oregon DB Tank Williams, Jr., Stanford DB Ricky Manning, So., UCLA DB Michael Jolivette, Fr., Arizona DB Hakim Akbar, Jr., Washington DB Terrance Carroll, Sr., Oregon State D DB Billy Newman, Jr., Washington State

First Team Specialists Second Team Specialists PK Ryan Cesca, So., Oregon State PK Chris Griffith, So., UCLA P Nick Harris, Sr., California P Nate Fikse, So., UCLA RS Bobby Wade, So., Arizona RS Jemeel Powell, So., California ST Jermaine Hanspard, Sr., Oregon ST Peter Hansen, Jr., Arizona RS=return specialist ST=special teams player (non-kicker or return man)