Hampton Named Preseason Candidate for Naismith Trophy
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  12/11/2006

Dec. 11, 2006

BERKELEY, Calif. - California sophomore forward/center Devanei Hampton has been named as one of 50 preseason candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Monday. The Naismith Trophy is one of the prestigious national awards presented annually to the men's and women's collegiate players of the year.

The Top 50 list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Clubs Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The board based its pre-season criteria on player performances from last season and expectations for the 2006-07 season.

In January, the Board of Selectors will narrow its preseason list to the Top 30 players in the nation. Those players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March. Cingular Wireless, will allow fans to participate in determining this year's winner through text messaging. Fan voting will account for 25 percent of the final results.

Hampton, who became the 10th freshman to ever be named to the All-Pac-10 team last year, is second on Cal this season in scoring (11.7 ppg), rebounding (5.7 rpg) and in blocks (1.0 bpg). The Oakland product is tied for seventh in the Pac-10 in blocks and is 10th in field goal percentage (52.1%). Hampton, a 2006 preseason All-America choice by Street & Smith, was one of 12 players named to the U.S. Under-20 national team last summer.

The pre-season candidates for the Naismith Trophy are listed below in alphabetical order:

Name	        Pos.	School
Matee Ajavon	G	Rutgers
Jolene  Anderson  G	Wisconsin
Morenike Atunrase G/F	Texas A&M
Alison Bales	C	Duke
DeWanna Bonner	F	Auburn
Sha Brooks	G	Florida
Essense Carson	F	Rutgers
Cori Chambers 	G	Georgia
Angela Clark	F	St. John's
Marissa Coleman	F	Maryland
Jazz Covington	F	Louisville
Jessica Davenport	C	Ohio State
Dee Davis	  G	Vanderbilt
Jessica Dickson	G	South Florida
Shay Doron	G	Maryland
Sylvia Fowles	C	LSU
Katie Gearlds	G	Purdue
Chrissy Givens	F	Middle Tennessee
Devanai Hampton	F/C	California
Lindsey Harding	G	Duke
Kiera Hardy 	G	Nebraska
Laura Harper	F	Maryland
Cameo Hicks	G	Washington
Alexis Hornbuckle	G	Tennessee
Charde Houston	F	Connecticut
Tasha Humphrey	F	Georgia
Tiffany Jackson	F	Texas
Tye Jackson	F	Houston
Crystal Kelly	F 	Western Kentucky
Crystal Langhorne F	Maryland
Erlana Larkins	F	UNC
Ivory Latta	G	UNC
Camille Little	F	UNC
Victoria Lucas-Perry G	Michigan State
Dionne Marsh 	F	New Mexico
Lindsey Medders	G	Iowa State
Renee Montgomery	G	Connecticut
Shay Murphy	G	USC
Courtney Paris	C	Oklahoma
Candace Parker	F/G/C	Tennessee
Armintie Price	G	Ole Miss
Allie Quigley	G	DePaul
Noelle Quinn	F	UCLA
Jillian Robbins	F	Tulsa
Megan Skouby	C	Iowa
Brooke Smith	F/C	Stanford
Kristi Toliver	G	Maryland
Mercedes Walker	C	Pittsburgh
Emily Westerberg F	Arizona State
Candice Wiggins	G	Stanford