Bryan Anger Semifinalist for Ray Guy Award
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  10/30/2008

Oct. 30, 2008

BERKELEY - California freshman punter Bryan Anger has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2008 Ray Guy Award, which identifies the nation's top collegiate punter. Anger, who is averaging 44.8 yards per kick, is the only freshman and Pac-10 player on the list.

This year, 53 punters were nominated for the honor. The nominees were evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the following categories: net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line, average return yardage, and percentage not returned.

Anger's average currently ranks eighth-best in the country and is the third-highest in school history. Ten of his 37 punts have traveled more than 50 yards, while 16 have landed inside the opponent 20-yard-line. He was named Pac-10 Special Teams Player of the Week following his performance against Arizona State Oct. 4.

The award is named for football legend, Ray Guy, the first punter ever inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame (2004). Guy, who played with the Oakland Raiders from 1973-86, is, perhaps, the first punter who could change the make-up of a game with his kicking style. According to NFL Hall of Fame historian Joe Horrigan, Guy was "the first punter you could look at and say, `he won games.'" This namesake award, which was created by the Greater Augusta Sports Council, was first presented in 2000.

A national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision coaches, sports information directors, national media and former Ray Guy Award winners will decide the three award finalists, and ultimately the winner of this year's award. The winner will be announced live on ESPN during the ESPNU - Home Depot College Football Awards show on Thursday, Dec. 11, 2008. The winner will again be honored at the Greater Augusta Sports Award Gala in early 2009.

2008 Ray Guy Award Semifinalists

Bryan Anger      California       Freshman
Derek Epperson   Baylor           Sophomore
Ryan Donahue     Iowa             Sophomore
Matt Fodge       Oklahoma State   Senior
Chas Henry       Florida          Sophomore
Kevin Huber      Cincinnati       Senior
Pat McAfee       West Virginia    Senior
Zoltan Mesko     Michigan         Junior
Louie Sakoda     Utah             Senior
A.J. Trapasso    Ohio State       Senior