No. 20 Cal Beats Sac State, Wins adidas Cal Legacy Classic
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  09/17/2006

Sept. 17, 2006

Box Score

BERKELEY - Twentieth-ranked California shut out Sacramento State, 2-0, on goals by tournament MVP Javier Ayala-Hil and Nick Hatzke to win its third straight adidas Cal Legacy Classic on Sunday at Edwards Stadium. The Golden Bears improved their record to 5-2-1 with their fourth straight victory. Sacramento State fell to 2-6-0.

Dartmouth beat Stanford, 1-0, in the first Sunday game to claim second place in the tournament. Stanford was third and Sacramento State was fourth.

"It was a great team tournament with four high-quality teams participating," Cal head coach Kevin Grimes said. "It allowed all four teams to continue to look at their own performances as everyone prepares for their conference schedules."

In Cal's victory, Ayala-Hil collected a pass from midfield near the top of the Hornets' penalty area, dribbled around two defenders and shot past goalkeeper Andrew Gangnuss for the game-winning goal in the 57th minute. The goal was the junior forward's second of the weekend and of the season.

Sacramento State had a good chance to score off a corner kick in the 67th minute, as forward Eliot Ricks-Chambers just headed the corner over the Cal crossbar.

In the 79th minute, Cal junior midfielder Luke Sassano was taken down in the Sacramento State penalty area, leading to a penalty kick by Hatzke, who scored his second goal of the season.

Cal goalkeeper Stefan Frei made two saves for the shutout, while Gangnuss made four saves for the Hornets in 90 minutes.

"Today's game was a total team performance," Grimes said. "We relied on a lot of support from our bench, which came through with a lot of performances that helped us win."

Cal opens Pac-10 Conference play when it hosts UCLA at 3:30 p.m. on Friday, Sept. 22, and San Diego State at 1 p.m. on Sunday, Sept. 24, at Edwards Stadium.

adidas Cal Legacy Classic

All-Tournament Team:

Javier Ayala-Hil (Cal) - MVP
Steve Purdy (Cal)
Luke Sassano (Cal)
Andrew Jacobson (Cal)
Nick Hatzke (Cal)

Brian Lappas (Dartmouth)
Tom Lobben (Dartmouth)
Craig Henderson (Dartmouth)

Michael Brown (Stanford)
Kyle Hency (Stanford)

Adam Owens (Sacramento State)
Zach Tuss (Sacramento State)