Don't have an account? Click Here
Teg Agu News Graphic

Chris Markey to Receive Seaborg Award
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  09/19/2006

Sept. 19, 2006

BERKELEY - The honorable Christian E. Markey Jr., a member of California's Rose Bowl teams under head coach Pappy Waldorf who went on to have a distinguished legal career, has been named the 2006 recipient of the Glenn T. Seaborg Award.

The award, named after the former University of California chancellor and 1959 Nobel Prize-winning scientist, is presented annually to a former Cal football player for his career accomplishments by the Sons of California (Cal's football alumni association.)

"This award is the single most important honor that can be given to a former Cal player," said Jack Hart, Chairman of the Glenn T. Seaborg Award Committee. "The real value of this award is that Chancellor Seaborg loved and supported athletics and truly cared about us as athletes, people and students. Chris is a worthy recipient of this honor."

Markey received his bachelor's degree from Cal in 1951, where he played freshman basketball and was a member of the football team. After serving as an officer in the Marine Corps during the Korean War, he attended UCLA Law School, graduating in 1958.

During his professional career, Markey worked in private practice for 15 years, specializing in business and family law as a founding partner with Munger, Toiles, Hills and Olson. He was appointed to the Los Angeles Superior Court in 1974.

In 1982, as a sitting judge, Markey was named the all-purpose judge for the Los Angeles County asbestos cases. He has served as a trustee of the Manville Personal Injury Settlement Trust since its inception and as director of the Johns Manville Corporation from 1992-2001.

Markey is a past president of the University of California Alumni Association (Berkeley and statewide), a former member of the UC Board of Regents and a past president of the Pappy's Boys football alumni organization. He has also served as a justice pro tem on the California Supreme Court and as founding chair of the Board of the Southern California Center for Law in the Public Interest. In addition, Markey has been honored as the Alumnus of the Year by the UCLA Law School and is a past recipient of the Berkeley Citation.

Established in 1995, the Seaborg Award has been presented to 12 recipients. Past winners are:

1995 - Rod Franz
1996 - John Najarian, M.D.
1997 - John Ralston
1998 - Les Richter
1999 - Vic Bottari
2000 - Pete Schabarum
2001 - Ed Bartlett
2002 - Ray Willsey
2003 - Jack Hart
2004 - Bob Karpe
2005 - Harry Agler

Cal Bears Football

Playing for the Future
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Premium Tickets
Uploaded Ad grand opening