Don't have an account? Click Here

California Crew Garners Pac-12 All-Academic Honors
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  06/06/2012

June 6, 2012

BERKELEY - California men's and women's crew placed a combined 14 members on the Pac-12 all-academic team, as announced today by the conference. The Golden Bears boasted eight men and six women on the academic team. Junior Cameron Klotz was named to the first team for the men, and Elise Etem, Rachel Ersted and Maggie Simpson were first-teamers for the women.

Klotz, Etem and Simpson were also selected to the Pac-10 all-academic team last year, as well, with Etem and Simpson as first-teamers and Klotz as a second-team pick in 2011.

To be eligible for selection to an academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or substitute of significant contribution.

Making the second team for the men were Christopher DeRenzi, Matt Dignan, Steve Marino, Igor Lucic, Colby Rapson, Jonathan Hoon and Chris Yeager. DeRenzi, Dignan, Hoon and Yeager all made the second team in 2011.

The all-academic honor is another representation of the strong leadership that Yeager provided for the Bears this season. An All-Pac-12 selection, Yeager was the lone senior on Cal's varsity eight in 2012.

Earning all-academic second team honors for the women were Lynn Anderson, Kristina Lofman and Stephanie Ding. Kyndal Mancho was an honorable-mention pick for the second straight year.

The awards just keep piling in for Etem. She had previously been named a CRCA All-American, an All-Pac-12 first-team selection and to the CRCA All-West Region first team. In addition, Etem was tabbed the Pac-12 Athlete of the Year.

Cal Bears Men's Crew

Playing for the Future
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Premium Tickets
Uploaded Ad grand opening