Walker, Hampton Named to Naismith Trophy Watch List
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  12/18/2007

Dec. 18, 2007

Buy tickets for Cal women's basketball home games

BERKELEY, Calif. - California junior posts Ashley Walker and Devanei Hampton have been selected to the 2007-08 Naismith Trophy preseason candidate watch list, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today. The award, which is presented by AT&T, is given to the national player of the year.

Walker, a preseason All-Pac-10 selection, currently leads the Pac-10 in double-doubles (6), rebounding (10.7 rpg) and offensive rebounds (4.50 rpg) and is second in scoring (19.0 rpg) and blocks (1.90 bpg). She also is third in defensive rebounds (6.20 rpg) and is fifth in field goal percentage (53.5%) and free throw percentage (78.8%).

Hampton, who is also a State Farm/Wade Trophy and Wooden Award candidate, returned to the lineup Dec. 8 after missing the first eight games of the season following knee surgery. Hampton was selected the 2006-07 Pac-10 Player of the Year after leading the league in rebounding (8.9 rpg) and finishing second in scoring (18.9 ppg) in conference games. The 2006-07 Pac-10 Player of the Year and 2007-08 preseason All-Pac-10 honoree was also a Naismith Trophy preseason candidate as a sophomore.

AT&T will allow fans to participate in determining this year's winner. Through text messaging, fan voting will account for 25 percent of the final results - more than any other national college basketball award.

In January, the Naismith Trophy voting academy, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country, will narrow its preseason list to the top 30 players in the nation. Those players will be eligible for the final ballot in March. In April, the Naismith Trophy winner will be recognized at the NCAA Women's Final Four in Tampa, Fla.

Last year's Naismith Trophy recipient was Duke guard Lindsey Harding.

The 50 preseason women's candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

Last First Class Position School
Ajavon Matee Sr. Guard Rutgers
Allen Charel Sr. Guard Notre Dame
Anderson Jolene Sr. Guard Wisconsin
Anosike Nicky Sr. Center Tennessee
Appel Jayne So. Forward/Center Stanford
Balerio Tahnee Sr. Guard Missouri State
Beck Kimberly Sr. Guard George Washington
Cann Jernisha Jr. Forward IUPUI
Carson Essence Sr. Guard/Forward Rutgers
Charles Tina So. Center Connecticut
Cirone Kristi Jr. Guard Illinois State
Coleman Marissa Jr. Guard/Forward Maryland
Cowher Meagan Sr. Forward Princeton
Dahir Brandy Sr. Forward Drake
DeHaan Allyssa So. Center Michigan State
Edwards Traci Jr. Center Wis.-Milwaukee
Ellis Krystal Jr. Guard Marquette
Fowles Sylvia Sr. Center Louisiana State
Hampton Devanei Jr. Forward/Center California
Harper Laura Sr. Forward/Center Maryland
Harris Amber So. Forward Xavier
Hightower Carlene Sr. Guard/Forward La Salle
Hornbuckle Alexis Sr. Guard Tennessee
Houston Charde Sr. Forward Connecticut
Humphrey Tasha Sr. Forward Georgia
Jackson Tye Sr. Guard Houston
Kahle Kelsey Jr. Guard/Forward Portland State
Kelly Crystal Sr. Forward Western Kentucky
Langhorne Crystal Sr. Forward/Center Maryland
Larkins Erlana Sr. Forward North Carolina
McCoughtry Angel Jr. Forward Louisville
McFarland Jackie Sr. Forward Colorado
Montgomery Renee Jr. Guard Connecticut
Morales Mandy Jr. Guard Montana
Murphy Marlena Sr. Forward Campbell
Neal Sherell Sr. Forward New Mexico State
Packer Marscilla Sr. Guard Ohio State
Paris Courtney Jr. Center Oklahoma
Parker Candace Jr. G/F/C Tennessee
Parker Rebekah Sr. Guard/Forward Evansville
Smith Tanya Sr. Forward Hawaii
Starks Takia Jr. Guard Texas A&M
Thomas Toni Jr. Forward Cal. State Fullerton
Toliver Kristi Jr. Guard Maryland
Vaughn Kia Jr. Center Rutgers
Walker Ashley Jr. Forward/Center California
Walker Marcedes Sr. Center Pittsburgh
Waner Abby Jr. Guard Duke
Wiggins Candice Sr. Guard Stanford
Wright Monica So. Guard Virginia