Golf's World Amateur Team Championships
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  09/09/2010

Sept. 9, 2010


Senior Pia Halbig has been selected as a member of the German National Team that will be competing at the World Amateur Team Championships in Buenos Aires, Argentina October 20-23.

The World Amateur Team Championships (WATC) were founded in 1958. They are competitions that take place every two years. They are organized by the International Golf Federation (IGF) and the national federations of golf from the host nation in every edition.

Teams of men and women come from all over the world to compete for the Eisenhower Trophy (men) and Espirito Santo Trophy (women). Players must be amateur golfers and follow the rules of The R&A or United States Golf Association. They must also be citizens of the country they represent. An estimate of 120 teams (70 teams of men and 50 of women) will compete in World Amateur Team Championships 2010.

This is Halbig's second time at the World Amateur Team Championships. She was also a member of the German squad in 2008 in Adelaide, Australia. Halbig finished 24th among individuals, shooting an eight-over. The German squad finished in sixth place with Sweden hoisting the Espirito Santo Trophy.

Cal has a prior history of sending players to the World Amateur Team Championship, which takes place every two years in different countries. In 2008, Roseanne Niven was named to the Scottish team. At the 2004 event in Puerto Rico, Cal's Claire Dury competed for New Zealand, Sofie Andersson played for Sweden and Sarah Huarte - the 2004 NCAA champion - represented the United States.

World Amateur Team Championships official website.