Kevin Riley Added to Manning Award Watch List
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  07/22/2010

July 22, 2010

2010 Cal Football: Single-Game Tickets & 3-Game Plan | Season Tickets | Schedule | Build Your Own Billboard
Manning Award Website

NEW ORLEANS - Senior quarterback Kevin Riley has been added to the Manning Award Watch List. The award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, is releasing its 2010 watch list one player per day through its official website, Facebook and Twitter pages. Riley is the ninth player to be named on a list that is being announced in completely random order.

Riley is the Pac-10's active career leader in wins with a 15-8 all-time record and touchdown passes (37). His 28 games played are tied for the most by any active conference quarterback, while his 23 starts are second. He has completed 357-of-659 passes (54.2%) for 4,773 yards during his career.

Last year, he had a solid season, starting all 13 games and completing 209-of-382 passes (54.7%) for 2,850 yards with 18 touchdown throws and eight interceptions. His 2,850 passing yards and 2,901 yards of total offense both ranked as the fourth-highest single-season totals in school history, while his 18 TD passes are tied for 10th on the school's single-season list.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances. Ten finalists will be selected in late-November. The winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a ceremony in New Orleans.

The preseason watch list recognizes some of the top quarterbacks in the nation based on previous collegiate performance; however, every quarterback in the nation remains eligible for the honor. Additional quarterbacks may be added to the watch list after the start of the season. The list of 10 finalists will be released on Monday, Nov. 29. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, Jan. 19.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its seventh winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top-10 picks of the NFL Draft. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. Last year's winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history. McCoy was picked by the Cleveland Browns in the 2010 NFL Draft.

Cal opens its 2010 season vs. UC Davis on Saturday, Sept. 4. The upcoming campaign also includes visits from Arizona State, Colorado, Oregon, Stanford, UCLA and Washington during a seven-game home schedule.

As Cal football prepares for its final season in the current Memorial Stadium, it is important to purchase season tickets this year. Cal fans that purchase season tickets and maintain their donation levels will have access to the best possible season-ticket seat locations when Cal football plays at AT&T Park in 2011 and returns to the renovated Memorial Stadium in 2012.

Call the Cal Athletic Ticket Office at (800) GO BEARS or visit to purchase your 2010 tickets now.