Zack Follett Chosen Semifinalst for Chuck Bednarik Award
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  11/05/2008

Nov. 5, 2008

BERKELEY - California senior linebacker Zack Follett has been named one of 15 semifinalists for the 14th annual Chuck Bednarik Award, which is given to the national defensive player of the year.

The reigning Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Week and a quarterfinalist for the Lott IMPACT Trophy, Follett has 49 tackles on the year. He leads the Bears in both tackles for loss (11.5) and quarterback sacks (5).

In last week's win over Oregon, Follett registered a season-best 11 stops, including three for loss and a sack.

The announcement of the winner of the Bednarik Award will be made during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show that will be broadcast on ESPN on Dec. 11. Three finalists for each award will be in attendance for the ESPN broadcast.

Voting for this collegiate award, presented by the Maxwell Football Club, will begin on Wednesday, Nov. 5 and close on Sunday, Nov. 23. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches, sports information directors and selected national media.

Semifinalists for the 14th Chuck Bednarik Award

Player               School         Pos  Class
Berry, Eric          Tennessee      S    SO
Cody, Terrence       Alabama        NT   JR
Follett, Zack        California     LB   SR
Hughes, Jerry        TCU            DE   JR
Jenkins, Malcolm     Ohio State     CB   SR
Laurinaitis, James   Ohio State     LB   SR
Maualuga, Rey        USC            LB   SR
Maybin, Aaron        Penn State     DE   SO
McCoy, Gerald        Oklahoma       DT   SO
McKillop, Scott      Pittsburgh     LB   SR
Orakpo, Brian        Texas          DE   SR
Rolle, Myron         Florida State  S    JR
Spikes, Brandon      Florida        LB   JR
Walker, Vance        Georgia Tech   DT   SR
Weatherspoon, Sean   Missouri       LB   JR