Don't have an account? Click Here

Legislature to Honor Men's Basketball Team
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  06/21/1999

April 23, 1999

BERKELEY - The California State Legislature will honor the National Invitation Tournament champion California men's basketball team in a special ceremony Monday morning (April 26) in Sacramento.

The resolution will be read on the floor of the Assembly, recognizing the Golden Bears for their achievement last month. The ceremony will take place at approximately 10 a.m.

Sponsored by Assemblyman Dick Ackerman of Fullerton, the resolution is co-sponsored by Assembly members Dion Louise Aroner, Scott Baugh, Susan A. Davis, Marco Antonio Firebaugh, Bob Margett, Virginia R. Strom-Martin, Tom Torlakson and Speaker Antonio R. Villaraigosa. Members of the State Senate who are co-sponsoring the resolution are John L. Burton, Liz Figueroa, Ross Johnson, Bruce McPherson and Don Perata.

The entire Cal coaching staff, along with several players and Athletic Director John Kasser, will be in attendance to represent the team. Class commitments will preclude all of the team from making the visit to Sacramento.

Cal captured its first NIT title with a 61-60 victory over Clemson March 25 in Madison Square Garden in New York. The Bears finished the season with a 22-11 overall record.

Cal Bears Men's Basketball

Playing for the Future
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Premium Tickets
Uploaded Ad grand opening