MEMBER SIGN IN
Don't have an account? Click Here
Teg Agu News Graphic
 


Third-Team All-American Allen Leads Seven on Steele Preseason Teams
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  05/17/2012

May 17, 2012

CONNECT WITH CAL: Facebook | Twitter | YouTube

Tickets/CaliforniaMemorialStadium.com | @CoachTedford Twitter

CLEVELAND, Ohio - Cal national honors candidate Keenan Allen (Jr., WR/RET) was named a third-team preseason All-American by Phil Steele on Thursday to lead seven Golden Bears honored on the annual preseason All-American and All-Pac-12 teams released by Steele.

Allen was the only Cal player to be named to any of the four preseason All-American teams but was joined on Steele's first-team preseason All-Pac-12 team by Matt Summers-Gavin (Sr., OL) and Aaron Tipoti (Sr., DL). Brian Schwenke (Sr., OL) was a second-team selection, while Marc Anthony (Sr., DB) and Isi Sofele (Sr., TB) were named third team and Cecil Whiteside (So., LB) was selected fourth team.

Phil Steele's College Football Preview is scheduled to be available at newsstands June 5.

Cal returns to a renovated Memorial Stadium in 2012, opening the season at home against Nevada on Saturday, Sept. 1. Cal's seven-game home slate will also feature Pac-12 contests against Arizona State, Oregon, Stanford, Washington and UCLA, as well as a non-conference tilt against Southern Utah. Cal plays on the road at Ohio State, Oregon State, USC, Utah and Washington State.

Visit CaliforniaMemorialStadium.com or call the Cal Athletic Ticket Office at (800) GO BEARS (462-3277) for 2012 Cal football ticket information.

2012 CAL FOOTBALL SCHEDULE

Day, Date - Opponent (Time, TV)
Sat., Sept. 1 - Nevada (TBA)
Sat., Sept. 8 - Southern Utah (TBA)
Sat., Sept. 15 - at Ohio State (TBA)
*Sat., Sept. 22 - at USC (TBA)
*Sat., Sept. 29 - Arizona State (TBA)
*#Sat., Oct. 6 - UCLA (TBA)
*Sat., Oct. 13 - at Washington State (TBA)
*Sat., Oct. 20 - Stanford (TBA)
*Sat., Oct. 27 - at Utah (TBA)
*Fri., Nov. 2 - Washington (TBA)
*Sat., Nov. 10 - Oregon (TBA)
*Sat., Nov. 17 - at Oregon State (TBA)
!Fri., Nov. 30 - Pac-12 Championship Game (TBA)
Home Games in Bold at Memorial Stadium, Berkeley, CA; *Pac-12 Game; !Pac-12 Championship Game at Home Site of Pac-12 Regular-Season Champion; #Homecoming; All Times Pacific


Cal Bears Football


advertisement
Listen to Cal Games live online
Playing for the Future
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Premium Tickets
http://www.calbearsshop.com/
swim caps
CAL ATHLETICS E-MAIL SIGN-UP