Macdonald Named MVP at Annual Awards Banquet
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  06/21/1999

May 13, 1999

BERKELEY - Junior John Macdonald was named California's MVP and Offensive MVP at the annual men's soccer banquet held Wednesday night. The banquet also marked the conclusion of the spring exhibition season.

Other awards were presented to Derrick Dyslin, Defensive MVP; Chris Roner, Rookie of the Year; and Brandon Moggio, Golden Bear Award for exemplifying the true spirit of being a Cal student-athlete.

Macdonald, a 5-6 forward from Granada Hills, Calif., started 19 of 20 games for Cal this season and led the team in scoring with 17 points on six goals and five assists. He also tallied one game- winning goal and two game-winning assists. For his efforts, Macdonald was named second-team All-MPSF and second-team All-Far West Region.

Dyslin, a 6-0 junior defender from La Canada, Calif., has been named Cal's Defensive MVP for the second-consecutive season. He played in 17 games and made 16 starts at marking back for the Bears last season. Dyslin often was called upon to mark an opponent's top attacker. In addition, he posted one goal and one assist during the 1998 season. Dyslin also was named second-team All-MPSF.

Roner, a 6-1 freshman midfielder from Navato, Calif., led all Bear freshman in scoring in 1998 with nine points on four goals and one assist. Roner netted the game-winning goal in Cal's 2-0 win over UC Santa Barbara. He played in 19 games, including making six starts.

Moggio, a 6-1 senior from Northville, Mich., finished the 1998 campaign fourth on the team in goals (3), fifth on the team in points (7) and sixth overall in shots (16), all of which was accomplished in only 10 out of 20 games. Moggio went down with a season-ending knee injury - torn left meniscus - after starting the first 10 games of the season and remained and continued to support his teammates. The senior finished an impressive four-year career with the Bears, starting 64 games and being named All-MPSF Mountain Division first team as a sophomore and honorable mention All-MPSF as a junior.

Macdonald and Dyslin were announced as captains for the 1999 squad, which will play at the new Edwards Stadium/Goldman Field.