Boller Named Semifinalist for Davey O'Brien Award
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  11/13/2002

Nov. 13, 2002

BERKELEY - Cal quarterback Kyle Boller has been named one of 14 semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien Award, which is presented annually to the nation's top quarterback.

The O'Brien Advisory Committee, composed of national sportswriters and commentators, will vote later this month to narrow the field again. The three finalists will be announced on Monday, Dec. 2 by the National College Football Awards Association in a joint effort among college football award programs.

The semifinalists, in alphabetical order, are:

Brad Banks, Iowa
Kyle Boller, California
Ken Dorsey, Miami
Jason Gesser, Washington State
Kliff Kingsbury, Texas Tech
Byron Leftwich, Marshall
Jared Lorenzen, Kentucky
Eli Manning, Mississippi
Zack Mills, Penn State
Carson Palmer, USC
Dave Ragone, Louisville
Philip Rivers, North Carolina State
Chris Simms, Texas
Seneca Wallace, Iowa State

The winner of the 2002 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award will be announced on the 2002 Home Depot College Football Awards Show, 7 p.m. ET on Thursday, Dec. 12. The show will air on ESPN.

The winner will also be honored at the 26th annual O'Brien Awards Dinner, Feb. 17, 2003, at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

A senior for the Bears this season, Boller has completed 54.2 percent of his passes for 2,329 yards, 24 touchdowns and just seven interceptions. The three-time Pac-10 Player of the Week threw five TD passes in Cal's 55-38 win at Arizona State last Saturday.