Ryan Anderson Named First-Team All-Pac-10
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  03/10/2008

March 10, 2008

BERKELEY - Sophomore forward Ryan Anderson, the Pac-10's leading scorer and third-leading rebounder, has been named to the five-player first-team all-conference squad, the Pac-10 announced Monday.

In addition, Anderson is listed as one of 24 players on the John R. Wooden Award ballot.

Anderson is contributing 21.5 ppg and 9.9 rpg for the Bears this season and is on track to become Cal's seventh league scoring champion in the last 15 years. He set a career high with 36 points at Nevada and has reached the 30-point level three other times - at Washington State and at home vs. Arizona and Arizona State. Anderson's 632 points on the year are the fifth most in school history.

Anderson has also pulled down 288 rebounds and needs 12 more to become just the seventh Bear - and first since 1982 - to reach 300 in one season.

A two-time Pac-10 Player of the Week and the Feb. 4 National Player of the Week, Anderson already ranks tied for 22nd on Cal's career scoring list with 1,162 points and his career free throw rate of 84.7 percent is the best in school history.

The first-team unit features two sophomores - Anderson and Stanford's Brook Lopez - and three freshmen - James Harden (Arizona State), Kevin Love (UCLA) and O.J. Mayo (USC).

In addition, sophomore guard Patrick Christopher was selected honorable mention All-Pac-10 and forward Harper Kamp was chosen honorable mention Pac-10 All-Freshman. Christopher is tossing in 15.7 ppg, while Kamp is averaging 4.7 ppg as a rookie.

For a complete look at the All-Pac-10 team, visit the Pac-10 website.

The ballot for the Wooden All-America team includes 24 players from across the country. Anderson is one of five players from the Pac-10, which includes Kevin Love and Darren Collison from UCLA, Arizona's Jerryd Bayless and O.J. Mayo of USC.

A panel of more than 1,000 voters, comprised of sports media and college basketball experts, have until March 31 to cast their votes. The team will be announced April 12.

More information on the Wooden ballot can be found at woodenaward.com.