Don't have an account? Click Here
Teg Agu News Graphic

George Stathakis to Receive Seaborg Award
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  09/18/2007

Sept. 18, 2007

George J. Stathakis, a retired executive with the General Electric Co., and a member of California's 1950 Rose Bowl team under head coach Pappy Waldorf, has been named the 2007 recipient of the Glenn T. Seaborg Award.

The award, named after the former University of California chancellor and 1959 Nobel Prize-winning scientist, is presented annually to a former Cal football player for his career accomplishments by the Sons of California (Cal's football alumni association.)

"The Glenn T. Seaborg Award is the most important honor a former Cal football player can receive," said Jack Hart, chair of the Seaborg Award Committee. "Chancellor Seaborg was delighted to have such a high level of recognition named after him. He was a strong supporter of athletics, and more importantly, of us as athletes. George Stathakis is a great example of a former Cal player who has accomplished a great deal in his life. He is a most worthy recipient of the Seaborg Award."

Stathakis spent 32 years in management and executive positions with GE, and in 1971, he was appointed vice president of the company and general manager of the Nuclear Energy Division. His responsibilities included technology research and development, engineering design, manufacturing, construction and marketing, as well as strategic business planning and investments.

In June 1978, Stathakis was named general manager of GE's International Trading and Construction Operations, where he oversaw international construction business and export sales activities, international technology licensing and patent operations, and international policy development. He later founded the General Electric Trading Company in 1982, which has been instrumental in developing export opportunities for GE through counter trade and barter.

Since 1985, Stathakis has worked in international investment banking. From 1986-89, he was chairman of the board and CEO of International Capital Corp., an investment banking subsidiary of American Express, while he was chairman of the board and CEO of Ramtron International Corp., an advanced semiconductor company, from 1990-94. Since 1994, Stathakis has provided advisory services to Calpine Corp., and he presently serves on the board of Calpine.

Stathakis, who earned both his bachelor's and master's degrees in engineering from Cal, was appointed to the President's Export Council by President Reagan in 1985. He is also director of the Atlantic Council, a former president of the India Chamber of Commerce of America, a former president of the U.S.-Yugoslavia Economic Council, and a former director of the U.S. National Foreign Trade Council.

As a member of the 1949 Cal football team, Stathakis helped the Bears to a 10-1 record and a final No. 3 national ranking. That Cal squad played in the 1950 Rose Bowl, the second of three straight trips to the New Year's Day bowl game. Stathakis is a former director of Pappy's Boys and has served as president of the organization.

Established in 1995, the Seaborg Award has been presented to 13 recipients. Past winners are:

1995 - Rod Franz
1996 - John Najarian, M.D.
1997 - John Ralston
1998 - Les Richter
1999 - Vic Bottari
2000 - Pete Schabarum
2001 - Ed Bartlett
2002 - Ray Willsey
2003 - Jack Hart
2004 - Bob Karpe
2005 - Harry Agler
2006 - Chris Markey

Cal Bears Football

Playing for the Future
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Premium Tickets summer 15 rail
College Colors Day App