J.J. Arrington Wins Pop Warner Award
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  03/03/2005

March 3, 2005

BERKELEY - J.J. Arrington, a consensus first team All-America tailback at the University of California and the nation's only 2,000-yard rusher last season, has been named the 56th winner of the prestigious Glenn "Pop" Warner Memorial Trophy, given annually by the Palo Club to the most valuable senior player on the West Coast.

Arrington, who averaged a NCAA-leading 7.0 yards per carry in rushing for a school-record 2,018 yards and 15 touchdowns, is the sixth Cal player in history to win the award and only the second Golden Bear to receive the honor in the past 21 years. Deltha O'Neal was the last Cal recipient in 1999.

"J.J. had an amazing season and is richly deserving of this honor," said Cal head coach Jeff Tedford. "He played a major role in our success this past season. While everyone saw how talented he was on the football field, what makes us most proud of him is his work ethic and unselfishness, and the leadership he provided our team."

The only NCAA Division I-A player to rush for 100 yards in every 2004 game, the 5-11, 215-pound Arrington became only the third player in Pac-10 history to gain 2,000 yards in a season, joining former Heisman Trophy winners Marcus Allen (1981) and Charles White (1979) in that elite group. His 2,018 yards were the most gained by a Pac-10 player in 23 years, while his 261 yards in Cal's regular-season finale at Southern Miss Dec. 4 ranks No. 3 on the school's all-time single-game list.

In propelling the Bears to their best regular season record (10-1) in 54 years and highest national ranking (No. 4) in 52 seasons, Arrington rushed for 169 yards or more in eight of his team's 12 games. He became the first Cal player to win a conference rushing title in 46 years, with quarterback Joe Kapp the last Bear to claim the title in 1958.

The Warner Memorial Trophy, established in 1949 by then-San Jose State football coach Bob Bronzan to honor the legendary coach, has been given to eight former Heisman Trophy winners through the years. Offensive and defensive coordinators from all West Coast NCAA Division I-A schools vote to determine the winner. Below is the complete list of previous recipients:

1949--Eddie LeBaron, College of Pacific
1950--Russ Pomeroy, Stanford
1951--Ollie Matson, USF
1952--Jim Sears, USC
1953--Bob Garrett, Stanford
1954--George Shaw, Oregon
1955--Bob Davenport, UCLA
1956--Jon Arnett, USC
1957--Joe Francis, Oregon St.
1958--Joe Kapp, California
1959--Chris Burford, Stanford
1960--Bill Kilmer, UCLA
1961--Chon Gallegos, San Jose St.
1962--Terry Baker, Oregon St.
1963--Vern Burke, Oregon St.
1964--Craig Morton, California
1965--Mike Garrett, USC
1967--Gary Beban, UCLA
1968--O.J. Simpson, USC
1969--Don Parish, Stanford
1970--Jim Plunkett, Stanford
1971--Jeff Siemon, Stanford
1972--Mike Rae, USC
1973--Lynn Swann, USC
1974--Anthony Davis, USC
1975--Chuck Muncie, California
1976--Ricky Bell, USC
1977--Guy Benjamin, Stanford
1978--Jerry Robinson, UCLA
1979--Charles White, USC
1980--Ken Margerum, Stanford
1981--Marcus Allen, USC
1982--John Elway, Stanford
1983--Ron Rivera, California
1984--Jack Del Rio, USC
1985--Reuben Mayes, Wash. St.
1986--Dave Wyman, Stanford
1987--Mike Perez, San Jose St.
1988--Rodney Peete, USC
1989--Tim Ryan, USC
1990--Greg Lewis, Washington
1991--Tommy Vardell, Stanford
1992--Glyn Milburn, Stanford
1993--Johnnie Morton, USC
1994--Steve Strenstrom, Stanford
1995--Keyshawn Johnson, USC
1996--Jake Plummer, Arizona St.
1997--Skip Hicks, UCLA
1998--Cade McNown, UCLA
1999--Deltha O'Neal, California
2000---Marques Tuiasosopo, Wash.
2001--David Carr, Fresno St.
2002--Carson Palmer, USC
2003--Dave Ball, UCLA
2004--J.J. Arrington, California