Cal Makes its 22nd Straight NCAA Postseason
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  05/13/2007
The California Golden Bear softball team captured its 22nd straight postseason berth after the NCAA Division I Softball Committee announced the 64-team field on Sunday afternoon. Cal will begin postseason play in the Tuscaloosa Regional, May 18-20 in Tuscaloosa, Ala. The Bears (33-30) will face Florida State (44-23) on Friday at 3:30 CT (1:30 PT). Alabama (51-7) claimed a No. 11 national seed and hosts Tennessee Tech (48-17) on Friday as well.

The Bears captured a World Series crown in 2002 and have been in the WCWS in seven of the last eight years.

With the bid, Cal has the longest active postseason streak in the Pac-10 and the second-longest streak in the nation.

"We're very excited about making it to the postseason," said head coach Diane Ninemire. "We had a strong finish down the stretch and we are pleased with our seeding. This was our goal at the beginning of the year. Now it is time for the new season to begin. We are hoping to build off the experiences we have had this season and make a successful postseason run."

According to the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA), Cal boasted the fourth-best strength of schedule in the nation's No. 1-rated conference (RPI). The Bears also had eight wins against top 25 teams.

Cal and Florida State do have postseason history together. The Bears last faced Florida State in the 2004 Women's College World Series and came away with a 4-2 victory over the Seminoles. Cal also defeated FSU in the 2002 World Series and took 2-of-3 from them in the 2001 NCAA Regional in Tallahassee. Cal is 10-1 all-time against FSU since 1991.

NCAA Regional all-session tickets are now available for purchase by logging on to, by calling 205-348-BAMA or at the ticket windows in Coleman Coliseum. Starting at 12:00 noon on Friday, fans can purchase tickets at the Alabama Softball Complex. All session adult passes are $25 and All session youth passes are $15. Single session passes are $10 for adults, $6 for youth and $3 for students.

The defending champion University of Arizona was named the No. 1 seed in this year's tournament. The Wildcats, champions of the Pacific-10 Conference, are 39-12-1 and will open play against the automatic qualifier from the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (winner of North Carolina A&T University vs. Howard University), May 18, in front of a home crowd in Tucson.

Twenty-nine conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 35 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and will play at campus sites this weekend.

Team pairings were determined by geographical proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during regional competition, when possible.

The Pac-10 led all conferences with eight teams in the championship, while the Southeastern Conference placed seven, the Big 12 Conference has six, and the Atlantic Coast Conference and the Big West Conference each had five. Fresno State remains the only team to be selected to all 26 championships. Five teams are making their initial appearances in the tournament: Sam Houston State University, Eastern Michigan University, Stetson University, Winthrop University, and Furman University. Only eight schools have been crowned champion, all of which are in this year's bracket.