Stallworth, Caldwell Honored by Pac-10 Media
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  03/09/2011

March 9, 2011


Sophomore forwards DeNesha Stallworth and Talia Caldwell were named to the Pac-10 Media All-Pac-10 Team in honors announced by the conference. Sophomore guard Eliza Pierre was named to the Pac-10 Media All-Defensive Team.

A panel of Pac-10 women's basketball media members who cover the league voted Stanford's Jeanette Pohlen Pac-10 Player of the Year, Stanford's Chiney Ogwumike Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, USC's Briana Gilbreath Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year, and Stanford head coach Tara VanDerveer Pac-10 Coach of the Year, the Conference office announced today.

The media also selected a 15-member All-Pac-10 team, a five-member All-Defensive team and a five-member All-Freshman team.

Stallworth was also a member of the official All-Pac-10 team, as annpounced earlier in the week. Caldwell was an honorable mention for All-Pac-10 honors. Pierre was named to the official Pac-10 All-Defensive team.

It is the second year of the Pac-10 media awards and are in addition to the Conference awards voted on by the league coaches, which were announced on Tuesday. The panel included local and national media members.

2011 Pac-10 Media All-Pac-10: Talia Caldwell, CAL; Jasmine Dixon, UCLA; Briana Gilbreath, USC; El Sara Greer, OSU; Ify Ibekwe, ARIZ; Nia Jackson, ORE; Amanda Johnson, ORE; Kristi Kingma, WASH; Darxia Morris, UCLA; Chiney Ogwumike, STAN; Nnemkadi Ogwumike, STAN; Kayla Pedersen, STAN; Jeanette Pohlen, STANFORD; DeNesha Stallworth, CAL; Dymond Simon, ARIZ.

2011 Pac-10 Media All-Freshman Team: Alexis Bostick, OSU; Cassie Harberts, USC; Alyssa Martin, OSU; Chiney Ogwumike, STAN; Sage Romberg, WSU.

2011 Media All-Defensive Team: Jasmine Dixon, UCLA; Briana Gilbreath, USC; Ify Ibekwe, ARIZ; Chiney Ogwumike, STAN; Eliza Pierre, CAL.