Cal Men's Water Polo Defeats Stanford, 12-9, in MPSF Tournament
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  11/25/2007

Nov. 25, 2007


The California men's water polo team was able to avenge a couple of heartbreaking losses earlier this season to its Bay Area rival, defeating Stanford, 12-9, Sunday in the third-place match of the MPSF Tournament at Spieker Aquatics Complex. Cal, which had lost twice to the Cardinal this season by the score of 10-9 in sudden-death overtime, was led by senior All-American Michael Sharf's three goals, and two goals apiece from seniors Zac Monsees and Jeff Tyrrell. With the victory, the Golden Bears improved to 26-4 and received an at-large bid for the NCAA Tournament, Dec. 1-2 at Stanford's Avery Aquatic Center. Stanford, which entered the MPSF tournament as the third-seed, concluded its season 17-8.

Cal will now face Navy (29-5) at 1:45 p.m. on Saturday, Dec. 1. The other NCAA first round action will be USC versus Loyola Marymount (13-15) at 12 p.m. Earlier this season, the Bears topped the Midshipmen, 12-7, Sept. 1 at the Navy Open in Annapolis, Md.

USC captured the 2007 MPSF Tournament title with a 10-6 victory over UC Irvine in the conference championship match. UC Irvine had upended Cal, the defending 2006 NCAA champs, 13-12, in Saturday's MPSF Tournament semifinals. The Trojans received the MPSF's automatic bid to the 2007 NCAA championship. UCLA won the MPSF Tournament fifth-place match with a 15-8 win over UC Santa Barbara, and Pepperdine placed seventh with a 13-10 win over Long Beach State.

Cal was able to pull away from Stanford by outscoring the Cardinal, 10-2, during the second and third periods. Stanford had jumped out to a 3-1 lead after the first eight minutes. Sharf had started the contest's scoring when he capitalized on a five-meter penalty shot with 7:27 in the first period, but the Cardinal tallied the next three goals on a shot by Janson Wigo and two shots by twin brother Drac Wigo.

From there, though, it was all Cal as the Bears scored five straight behind two goals from Tyrrell, and goals from Sharf, sophomore Spencer Warden and freshman Brian Dudley. Cal also dominated the third period behind a pair of goals from Monsees and goals from Sharf and junior Trent Calder.

The Bears received goals from seniors Mike Hayes and Adam Haley during the match, and senior goalie Mark Sheredy finished with seven saves. Monsees had a solid all-around match, leading Cal with three assists, four steals and three ejections earned.

"We wanted to press Stanford and wear them down," said Cal coach Kirk Everist, who has led Cal to the NCAA championship in 2002, 2006 and now 2007. "We wanted to put pressure on them and force them to go inside where we could utilize our two-meter defense, which is one of our strengths."


California 12, Stanford 9

Stanford 3 1 1 4 - 9

California 1 6 4 1 - 12

Goals -

Stanford - Drac Wigo 3, Ryan McCarthy 2, Will Hindle-Katel 2, Janson Wigo, Andrew Drake.

California - Michael Sharf 3, Jeff Tyrrell 2, Zac Monsees 2, Spencer Warden, Brian Dudley, Mike Hayes, Trent Calder, Adam Haley.

Saves -

Stanford - Sandy Hohener 3.

California - Mark Sheredy 7.

Records: California 26-4; Stanford 17-8


USC 10, UC Irvine 6

UC Irvine 1 1 1 3 - 6

USC 4 2 1 3 - 10

Goals -

UC Irvine - Tim Hutten 4, Brandon Johnson 2.

USC - Matt Sagehorn 3, Jovan Vranes 2, J.W. Krumpholz 2, Drew Vyn, Shea Buckner, Arjan Ligtenberg.

Saves -

UC Irvine - Matt Garcia 5.

USC - Adam Shilling 7.

Records: USC 18-2; UC Irvine 14-11

NOTES: USC captured the 2007 MPSF Tournament title with a 10-6 victory over UC Irvine. The Trojans, led by Matt Sagehorn's three goals and two goals apiece from Jovan Vranes and J.W. Krumpholz, improved to 18-2 and receive the automatic bid to the 2007 NCAA championship, Dec. 1-2 at Stanford's Avery Aquatic Center. It was USC's fifth MPSF Tournament title (1996, 1997, 2003, 2005, 2007). The Trojans had jumped out to a 6-2 halftime lead after jumping out to a 4-1 advantage after the first period. The match concludes the 2007 campaign for UC Irvine, who finished 14-11 and was the MPSF Tournament runner-up after entering the competition as the No. 5-seeded team. The Anteaters' were led by senior Tim Hutten's four goals.


UCLA 15, UC Santa Barbara 8

UC Santa Barbara 3 2 0 3 - 8

UCLA 3 5 4 3 - 15

Goals -

UC Santa Barbara - Milos Golic 5, Miles Price 2, Ross Sinclair.

UCLA - Scott Davidson 3, Krsto Sbutega 3, Marco Santos 2, Kyle Healy, Ben Hohl, Tyler Jemmett, Justin Johnson, Clay Jorth, Scott Swanson, Cameron Smith.

Saves -

UC Santa Barbara - Michael Robinson 7, Rick Wright 2.

UCLA - Matt Kellogg 7.

Records: UC Santa Barbara 19-14; UCLA 21-7

NOTES: Led by three goals a piece from junior Krsto Sbutega and sophomore Scott Davidson, UCLA took fifth place at the 2007 MPSF Tournament with a 15-8 victory over UC Santa Barbara Sunday at Spieker Aquatics Complex in Berkeley, Calif. The Gauchos were led by five goals from freshman Milos Golic but allowed the Bruins to pull away, scoring nine goals to two over the second and third quarters. The match concludes the 2007 campaign for both teams as UCLA moves to 21-7 and UC Santa Barbara falls to 19-14.


Pepperdine 13, Long Beach State 10

Long Beach State 3 4 1 2 - 10

Pepperdine 2 4 3 4 - 13

Goals -

Long Beach State - Clint Wilson 4, Justin Koeppen 2, Jake Kinne, Nick Korsgaden, Reid Tomassi, Jeff Greenwood.

Pepperdine - Adam Hewko 5, JP MacDonell 4, Caleb Hamilton 2, Grant Miller, Andrew Milcovich.

Saves -

Long Beach State - Steve MacKenzie 10.

Pepperdine - Travis Stachowski 4 (first half), Jack Curley 9 (second half).

Records: Pepperdine 27-10; Long Beach State 17-15

NOTES: Led by Adam Hewko's five goals and four goals from JP MacDonell, Pepperdine placed seventh at the 2007 MPSF Tournament with a 13-10 victory over Long Beach State Sunday at Spieker Aquatics Complex. The Waves finish the 2007 campaign 27-10, while the 49ers drop to 17-15. Long Beach State was paced by Clint Wilson's four goals, and goalie Travis Stachowski tallied 10 saves. The match was close at halftime, with the 49ers owning a 7-6 advantage, but Pepperdine pulled away by outscoring Long Beach State, 7-3, in the final two periods.

Nov. 23 MPSF Championship Results

Cal 11, Long Beach State 7 USC 10. UC Santa Barbara 7 Stanford 7, Pepperdine 4 UC Irvine 10, UCLA 9 SDOT

Nov. 24 MPSF Championship Results

UCLA 13, Long Beach State 9 OT UC Santa Barbara 8, Pepperdine 7 UC Irvine 13, California 12 USC 10, Stanford 6

Nov. 25 MPSF Championship Results

Pepperdine 13, Long Beach State 10 Seventh Place UCLA 15, UC Santa Barbara 8 Fifth Place California 12, Stanford 9 Third Place USC 10, UC Irvine 6 Championship