MEMBER SIGN IN
Don't have an account? Click Here
Uploaded Ad
 


Cal Women's Basketball Schedule Released for 2001-02
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  08/20/2001

Aug. 20, 2001

BERKELEY - California women's basketball fans will be able to see the Golden Bears play 16 times at home during the 2001-02 regular season. This is an increase from Cal's 12 home games during coach Caren Horstmeyer's inaugural 2000-01 campaign.

To better accommodate its family-oriented fan base, Cal has gone away from 7:30 p.m. tip-offs to more afternoon contests and tip-offs no later than 7 p.m.

Cal plays seven of its 10 non-conference games at home at Haas Pavilion. The Bears host San Diego State, Nov. 18, at 2 p.m., in the season opener before travelling to Cal Poly, Nov. 20. Later in the month, Cal hosts in-state rivals San Jose State (Nov. 24) and Fresno State (Nov. 28).

The Bears will be home for six games the last month of the year starting with the Dec. 1-2 Oakland Tribune Classic, which features perennial national power Georgia, UNLV and Central Connecticut State. Two West Coast Conference teams then travel to Berkeley Dec. 5 (San Francisco) and Dec. 8 (St. Mary's).

Cal opens Pac-10 play at Arizona, Dec. 21, and at Arizona State, Dec. 23. The Bears wrap up 2001 with their Pac-10 home opening weekend Dec. 28 (USC) and Dec. 30 (UCLA).

The Bears finish their non-conference slate in grand fashion with a trip to the Bahamas to play in the Nassau Knockout, Jan. 4-5. The Caribbean excursion marks Cal's first in-season games outside the United States in the program's 28-year history.

This season also features the first-ever Pac-10 Women's Basketball Tournament, Mar. 1-4, at McArthur Court in Eugene, Ore.

Tickets for the 2001-02 season will go on sale in the fall. Fans can either click on the tickets icon at Calbears.com or call 800-GO BEARS.

2001-02 California Women's Basketball Schedule

Day	 Date	  Opponent	              Site	      Time	
Sun.	 Nov. 4	  Bay Area Pro Am Exh.        Berkeley	      2:00 p.m.
Mon.	 Nov. 12  KSC Szekszard (Hungary) Exh.Berkeley	      7:00 p.m.
Sun.	 Nov. 18  San Diego State	      Berkeley	      2:00 p.m.
Tues.	 Nov. 20  at Cal Poly	              San Luis Obispo 7:00 p.m.
Sat.	 Nov. 24  San Jose State  	      Berkeley	      2:00 p.m.
Wed.	 Nov. 28  Fresno State	              Berkeley	      6:00 p.m.
Sat.-Sun.Dec. 1-2 Oakland Tribune Classic     Berkeley
Sat.	 Dec. 1	  UNLV vs. Georgia		              1:00 p.m.
		  Cal vs. Central Connecticut State	      3:00 p.m.
Sun.	 Dec. 2	  Consolation Game		              1:00 p.m.
		  Championship Game		              3:00 p.m.
Wed.	 Dec. 5	  San Francisco	              Berkeley	      7:00 p.m.
Sat.	 Dec. 8	  St. Mary's	              Berkeley	      7:00 p.m.
Fri.	 Dec. 21  at Arizona*	              Tucson, AZ      7:00 p.m.
Sun.	 Dec. 23  at Arizona State*	      Tempe, AZ	      2:00 p.m.
Fri.	 Dec. 28  USC*	                      Berkeley	      2:00 p.m.
Sun.	 Dec. 30  UCLA*	                      Berkeley	      2:00 p.m.
Fri.-Sat.Jan. 4-5 at Nassau Knockout	      Nassau, Bahamas
Fri.	 Jan. 4	  Cal vs. Lipscomb		              6:00 p.m. ET
		  IUPU-Fort Wayne vs. Bucknell		      8:00 p.m. ET
Sat.	 Jan. 5	  Consolation Game		              6:00 p.m. ET
	          Championship Game		              8:00 p.m. ET
Thurs.	 Jan. 10  Oregon*	              Berkeley	      7:00 p.m.
Sat.	 Jan. 12  Oregon State*	              Berkeley	      7:00 p.m.
Thurs.	 Jan. 17  at Washington*	      Seattle, WA     7:00 p.m.
Sat.	 Jan. 19  at Washington State*	      Pullman, WA     6:00 p.m.
Thurs.	 Jan. 24  Arizona State*	      Berkeley	      7:00 p.m.
Sat.	 Jan. 26  Arizona*	              Berkeley	      7:00 p.m.
Wed.	 Jan. 30  at Stanford*	              Stanford	      7:00 p.m.
Sat.	 Feb. 2	  Stanford*	              Berkeley	      2:00 p.m.
Thurs.	 Feb. 7	  at Oregon State*	      Corvallis, OR   7:00 p.m.
Sat.	 Feb. 9	  at Oregon*	              Eugene, OR      7:00 p.m.
Thurs.	 Feb. 14  Washington State*	      Berkeley	      7:00 p.m.
Sat.	 Feb. 16  Washington*	              Berkeley	      7:00 p.m.
Fri.	 Feb. 22  at UCLA	              Los Angeles     7:00 p.m.
Sun.	 Feb. 24  at USC	              Los Angeles     2:00 p.m.
Fri.-Mon.Mar. 1-4 at Pac-10 Tournament        Eugene, OR      TBA
* Pac-10 game

Home games in Berkeley are played at Haas Pavilion (12,172) on campus.

All times are local to the host institution and subject to change.


Cal Bears Women's Basketball


advertisement
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Listen to Cal Games live online
Playing for the Future
ThisIsCalBasketball
Premium Tickets
Uploaded Ad
http://www.calbearsshop.com/
swim caps
CAL ATHLETICS E-MAIL SIGN-UP