Pac-12 Announces Media Awards
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  03/05/2012

March 5, 2012

BERKELEY - A panel of Pac-12 women's basketball media members who cover the league selected a 15-member All-Pac-12 team, a five-member All-Defensive team and a five-member All-Freshman team. California Golden Bears Layshia Clarendon, Gennifer Brandon, Brittany Boyd, and Reshanda Gray were among those receiving honors.

It is the third year of the Pac-12 media awards, with the honors determined by a panel that included local and national media members. These honors are announced one day prior to the official All-Pac-12 team, All-Pac 12 Freshman team and the All-Pac-12 Defensive Team, which will be announced on Tuesday. The official honors are voted on by the conference coaches.

Junior guard Layshia Clarendon and redshirt sophomore forward Gennifer Brandon both earned spots on the 15-player All-Pac-12 Media team. Clarendon leads the Bears in scoring, averaging 12.5 points per game. Brandon is one of the top rebounders in the nation, averaging 9.9 rebounds per game and is poised to set the Cal record for most rebounds in a single season.

The Bears have two players on the Pac-12 Media All-Freshman team. Point guard Brittany Boyd is averaging 10.0 points per game. She has already earned a spot in the Cal record book, tying the mark for the most steals in a single game (10). She is also on the top-10 list for assists in a single season and should finish the year with one of the ten-best seasons in terms of steals. Forward Reshanda Gray led the team in scoring for much of the season and currently ranks second with a 10.3 ppg average. Gray is also averaging 5.8 rebounds per game and has been a key element in leading the Bears to a second place finish in the Pac-12 conference.

The Bears did not have a player named to the media's All-Defensive team.

Stanford's Nnemkadi Ogwumike was voted the Pac-12 Player of the Year, Washington's Jazmine Davis the Pac-12 Freshman of the Year and Oregon State head coach Scott Rueck Pac-12 Coach of the Year in the top accolades voted on by the media panel. USC's Briana Gilbreath and Nnemkadi Ogwumike were named the Pac-12 Media's Pac-12 Co-Defensive Players of the Year.

2012 Pac-12 Media All-Pac-12: Gennifer Brandon, CAL; Layshia Clarendon, CAL; Ashley Corral, USC; Rebekah Gardner, UCLA; Briana Gilbreath, USC; Chucky Jeffery, COLO; Toni Kokenis, STAN; Earlysia Machbanks, OSU; Michelle Plouffe, UTAH; Chiney Ogwumike, STAN; Nnemkadi Ogwumike, STAN; Regina Rogers, WASH; Markel Walker, UCLA; Davellyn Whyte, ARIZ; Taryn Wicijowski, UTAH.

<2012 Pac-12 Media All-Freshman Team (six members because of a tie for the fifth spot): Brittany Boyd, CAL; Jazmine Davis, WASH; Ali Gibson, OSU; Reshanda Gray, CAL; Lexy Kresl, COLO; Amber Orrange, STAN.

2012 Media All-Defensive Team: Kali Bennett, ASU; Patricia Bright, OSU; Briana Gilbreath, USC; Nnemkadi Ogwumike, STAN; Jazmine Perkins, WSU.