Kyle Boller Candidate for Davey O'Brien Award
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  08/09/2001

Aug. 9, 2001

BERKELEY - Cal junior quarterback Kyle Boller has been listed a one of 30 candidates on the preseason watch list for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, which is given annually to the nation's top quarterback.

Boller enters his third year as a starter for the Bears this fall. After two years, he ranks 12th on Cal's career list with 3,424 passing yards. Last season, he completed 163-of-349 passes for 2,121 yards and 15 touchdowns, ranking sixth in the Pac-10 with an average of 192.8 ypg.

The O'Brien committee, which is comprised of sportswriters and commentators from around the country, will select eight semifinalists the first week of November. The winner will be announced Dec. 6 during ESPN's Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

The O'Brien Award is named in honor of the late Davey O"Brien, an All-American and Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback at TCU who led the Horned Frogs to the 1938 national championship.

Here is the complete list of candidates for the 2001 award:

Kyle Boller, California
Eric Crouch, Nebraska
Woodrow Dantzler, Clemson
Rohan Davey, LSU
Ken Dorsey, Miami
David Carr, Fresno State
Casey Clausen, Tennessee
Ronald Curry, North Carolina
K.C. Enzminger, New Mexico State
Mark Farris, Texas A&M
Daivd Garrard, East Carolina
George Godsey, Georgia Tech
Rex Grossman, Florida
Joey Harrington, Oregon
Jeff Kelly, Southern Mississippi
Kliff Kingsbury, Texas Tech
Kurt Kittner, Illinois
Zak Kustok, Northwestern
Byron Leftwich, Marshall
Jared Lorenzen, Kentucky
David Neill, Nevada
Carson Palmer, USC
David Priestley, Pittsburgh
Casey Printers, TCU
Dave Ragone, Louisville
Patrick Ramsey, Tulane
Philip RIvers, North Carolina State
Chris Simms, Texas
Jonathan Ogden, Oregon State
Jason Thomas, UNLV