Joanne Boyle Honored with 2011 Carol Eckman Award
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  03/09/2011

March 9, 2011


California head coach Joanne Boyle is the winner of the 2011 Carol Eckman Award, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced today.

The Carol Eckman Award is presented annually to an active WBCA coach who exemplifies Eckman's spirit, integrity and character through sportsmanship, commitment to the student-athlete, honesty, ethical behavior, courage and dedication to purpose. The award is named in honor of the late Carol Eckman, the former West Chester State College coach who is considered the "Mother of the Women's Collegiate Basketball Championship." Eckman organized the first women's basketball championship at West Chester in 1969 and continued to garner recognition and support for the women's game until her death from cancer in 1985.

"We are pleased to present Joanne Boyle with the 2011 Carol Eckman Award," said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "This award recognizes all the wonderful qualities and core values - sportsmanship, honesty and ethical behavior - inherent in educational athletics. Carol Eckman instilled in her players exactly those qualities that we aspire to foster through our Center for Coaching Excellence, which is housed at Columbia University."

Boyle is in her sixth season as head coach of the Golden Bears, where she has amassed a 134-62 record. Under Boyle's direction, Cal registered four consecutive NCAA Tournament berths from 2006 through 2009, when it made its first-ever Sweet 16 appearance, and was the 2010 WNIT champion. This year's team is 15-14 heading into the Pac-10 Conference Tournament.

Boyle was hired at Cal in 2005 after serving three seasons as head coach at Richmond, where she directed the Spiders to three consecutive 20-plus win seasons, including a 23-8 record and the program's first NCAA Tournament berth in 14 years in 2004-05.

Before accepting her first collegiate head coaching job at Richmond, Boyle was an assistant coach at Duke, her alma mater, where she was a four-year letter-winner, for nine seasons. Prior to coaching at Duke, Boyle played professional basketball overseas for three years in Luxembourg and Germany.

Boyle will be formally recognized during the WBCA Awards Show, which will be held at 6 p.m. Monday, April 4, in the Indianapolis Convention Center's Sagamore Ballroom. This event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four® in Indianapolis.

Now in its 25th year, the Carol Eckman Award has recognized the following individuals in women's basketball: Kevin Cook, Gallaudet University (2010); Muffet McGraw, Notre Dame University (2009); Doug Bruno, DePaul University (2008); Theresa Grentz, University of Illinois (2007); Gail Goestenkors, Duke University (2006); Bonnie Henrickson, University of Kansas (2005); Deirdre Kane, West Chester University (2004); Marsha Sharp, Texas Tech University (2003); Barbara Stevens, Bentley College (2002); Juliene Simpson, East Stroudsburg University (2001); Kathy Delaney-Smith, Harvard University (2000); Susan Summons, Miami-Dade (Fla.) Community College (1999); Kay James, University of Southern Mississippi (1998); Amy Ruley, North Dakota State University (1997); Dr. Joann Rutherford, University of Missouri (1996); Ceal Barry, University of Colorado (1995); the late Sue Gunter, Louisiana State University (1994); C. Vivian Stringer, University of Iowa (1993); Dr. Jill Hutchison, Illinois State University (1992); Marian Washington, University of Kansas (1991); Maryalyce Jeremiah, Cal State Fullerton (1990); Linda Hill-MacDonald, University of Minnesota (1989); the late Kay Yow, North Carolina State University (1988); Jody Conradt, University of Texas (1987), and Laura Mapp, Bridgewater College (1986).