Cal repeats as Tiburon Mile champion
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  09/20/2004

Sept. 20, 2004

TIBURON, Calif. - Cal sophomore Daniel Lysaught led the Golden Bears to a repeat performance as the college team champion in the sixth annual Tiburon Mile on Sunday morning in Tiburon. The Australian freestyler swam the best time among college men, with a 20:43, and took seventh-place overall in the race, which spanned one nautical mile from San Francisco Bay to downtown Tiburon.

After each swimmer is awarded points based on his or her finish - one point for first place, two points for second place, etc. - the college team championship is determined by adding up the points from the top six swimmers, male or female, from a school. The school with the fewest points - in this case, Cal with 103 - wins.

The Bears had swimmers from both their men's and women's teams competing in the Mile, though the top six finishers were Cal men. Freshmen - Louis Vayo (17th with a swim of 22:02) and Michael Jafari (18th in 22:12) - had Cal's next best times, followed by junior Ryan Lean (19th in 22:13), senior John Dorr (20th in 22:14) and freshman John Foster (22nd in 22:28).

Other Cal men's finishers included junior Chris Gibson (23rd in 22:31), freshman Justin Pollard (30th in 22:51), sophomore Alexander Holdridge (40th in 23:17), junior Miguel Molina (43rd in 23:19), freshman Mark Eckert (46th in 23:28), sophomore Jonas Tilly (49th in 23:50) and sophomore Patrick O'Neil (50th in 23:51).

Cal officially opens its college season with a dual meet against Florida State at 1 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 22, at Spieker Aquatics Complex.