No. 4 Cal and No. 9 Stanford Set For The Big Row
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  04/25/2012

April 25, 2012

BERKELEY - In a battle of two high-ranked squads, No. 3 California men's crew hopes to continue its dominance over No. 9 Stanford in the 79th Big Row on Saturday, April 28, at Redwood Shores when the Golden Bears and Cardinal renew their rivalry for the Schwabacher Cup, awarded to the winner of the varsity eight race between the two teams. The Bears have been victorious in 20 of the last 21 meetings.

Schedule of Races
10:00 a.m. - Second Varsity Eight
10:30 a.m. - Freshman Eight
11:30 a.m. - Varsity Eight
11:45 a.m. - Alumni Race

Last Year's Big Row
In the 2011 edition of The Big Row, then-second-ranked California swept all three races over then-No. 11 Stanford at Redwood Shores. The closest race of the day was the varsity eight race for the Schwabacher Cup. Cal topped Stanford, 5:39-5:48, to retain the cup. In the second varsity eight race, the Bears won, 5:47-5:58, and in the freshman eight, Cal was victorious with a time of 5:51 to Stanford's 6:22. Similar to the 2010 Big Row, the day was dedicated to the late Jill Costello. In honor of Jill, the Cal and Stanford men wore aquamarine ribbons (Costello's favorite color).

Cal-Stanford Series History
Since 1902, Cal leads the all-time series in the Schwabacher Cup, 60-18, and the Bears have won 20 of the last 21 meetings. Since 1980, the Cardinal have only won three times (1988, 1990, 2008).

Huskies Sweep Bears
In the 101st renewal of the long-standing rivalry, Washington swept all four races against Cal last Saturday at Redwood Shores and retained the Schoch Cup for the sixth consecutive season. Washington now leads the all-time series 70-30-1. The Schoch Cup is awarded annually to the winner of the varsity eight dual race between Cal and Washington. In the varsity eight race for the Schoch Cup, the Huskies topped the Bears by just under 10 seconds, 5:30.5-5:40.3. The closest race of the day was the freshman eight. Washington crossed the finish line with a time of 5:38.5 to Cal's 5:43.4. The Bears are very encouraged by their freshmen, so it was an good sign for their outlook.

Men's Crew Bear Blog
Want more insight into what's going on with the Cal men's crew? Check out the Cal men's crew bear blog on for a behind-the-scenes look at the Bears as they strive for another IRA title in 2012. Golden Bears here to check out the blog.

Bears Enjoy 2011 International Summer Success
As much as the Bears are excited to represent Cal and their country at the 2012 Summer Olympic Games in London this summer, some Bears also enjoyed some international success prior to the 2012 season. Chris Yeager was part of the U.S. men's eight that claimed first in a record-setting time at the 2011 U23 World Championships, which were held in Amsterdam, The Netherlands, last July. Cal head coach Mike Teti was the coach of the men's eight boat. Yeager and the U.S. clocked a time of 5:24.31, which was seven seconds better than the previous top time set by Germany. In addition to Yeager's success, Luka Dordevic and Igor Lucic won the gold rowing for Serbia in the men's four. Spencer Crowley (Canada), James Scott (Great Britain) and Tord Fongaard (Norway) were the other Bears competing in the four. Cal assistant coach Luke Agnini coached the U.S. men's four, as well. Crowley also won two silver medals as part of the eight and the four for Canada at the 2011 Pan American Games last fall.

Olympic Hopefuls Hope to Represent Cal at 2012 Summer Olympic Games in London
A total of 13 former Cal rowers, six for the United States, have been vying for an opportunity to represent their respective countries at the 2012 Summer Olympic Games in London, England, this summer. Current Cal head coach Mike Teti will represent the U.S. as an assistant coach. Teti has tremendous Olympic experience, having been a fixture in U.S. rowing in the Olympics as either a competitor or a coach from 1977 to 2008. In addition, the past two years, he has coached U-23 teams that medaled each year. As far as competitors go, Olivier Siegelaar of The Netherlands was the first former Cal rower to officially be named to an Olympic boat for the 2012 Olympics. Siegelaar was named to the Dutch men's eight. He competed for The Netherlands in the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing, China, rowing in the three seat in the eight, helping the Dutch finish fourth. His boat finished behind the third-place U.S. eight coached by current Cal head coach and U.S. assistant coach Mike Teti. The six Bears competing for the U.S. are Nareg Guregian (2010 Pac-10 Athlete of the Year), Brandon Shald, Zachary Vlahos, Deaglan McEachern, Elliot Hovey and Mike Holbrook. Vlahos, Shald and Guregian were coached by Teti at Cal, as well. Three Bears each are trying to make the final cut in Canada (Spencer Crowley, Will Dean, Geoff Roth) and Serbia (Marko Marjanovic, Jovan Popovic, Goran Todorovic).

Ky Ebright Statue Dedicated at Gary T. Rogers Boathouse
One of the highlights at this year's Alumni Day was the unveiling of the new Ky Ebright statue right by the front entrance of the T. Gary Rogers Rowing Center. Ebright was one of the finest crew coaches in the history of the sport. He coached three Cal teams (1928, '32 and '48) to Olympic gold medals, a feat not achieved by any other university. He coached at Cal for 35 years, the most by any Cal coach, and his teams captured six intercollegiate varsity titles and four junior varsity titles during his illustrious coaching career.

Bears Enjoy Third Year of Cal Crew Cleanup
For the third consecutive year, the California men's and women's crews recently gathered together for their local community service project of cleaning up the local areas in Moraga, Calif. Both squads helped the East Bay Municipal Utility District clear out invasive broom (weeds), and cut up and removed fallen trees. The view the photo gallery from the day's events, please click here.

Next Week
Cal takes next week off as it prepares to return to Lake Natoma for the Pac-12 Championships on May 13.

Head Coach Mike Teti
A long time fixture in U.S. rowing, both as a coach and a competitor, Mike Teti, who led the Bears to the 2010 IRA national championship, has carried on the historic and successful tradition of California men's crew since becoming the head coach in July 2008.
Teti officially started at Cal on Sept. 1, 2008, after coaching the U.S. men's eight to a bronze medal at the 2008 Summer Olympic Games in Beijing, China.
Returning to the international stage yet again in 2012, Teti will serve as an assistant coach for the U.S. at the 2012 Summer Olympic Games in London, England, coaching the men's eight.
Last summer, Teti enjoyed more success at the international level. He coached the U.S. men's eight that claimed first in a record-setting time (5:24.31) at the 2011 U23 World Championships in Amsterdam, The Netherlands.
Teti guided Cal's varsity eight to a third-place finish at the IRA national championships and second place at the Pac-10 championships in 2011. Under the tutelage of Teti, Samuel Walker was named the Pac-10 Athlete of the Year last season, while Dane Oatman garnered Newcomer of the Year honors. It was the second straight season that a Cal rower was named the Athlete of the Year (Nareg Guregian - 2010).

Social Media
Follow Cal men's crew on Facebook
Follow Cal men's crew on Twitter