Harry Agler Selected 2005 Seaborg Award Winner
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  09/30/2005

Sept. 30, 2005

BERKELEY, Calif. - Harry Agler, a co-captain of Pappy Waldorf's first California team in 1947 and a former distinguished military leader and business executive, has been named the 2005 recipient of the Glenn T. Seaborg Award.

The award, named after the former University of California chancellor and 1959 Nobel Prize-winning scientist, is presented annually to a former Cal football player for his career accomplishments by the Sons of California (Cal's football alumni association.)

"This award is the single most important honor that can be given to a former Cal player," said Jack Hart, Chairman of the Glenn T. Seaborg Award Committee. "The real value of this award is that Chancellor Seaborg loved and supported athletics and truly cared about us as athletes, people and students. Harry is a worthy recipient of this honor."

Agler capped a memorable collegiate football career playing for Waldorf and Stub Allison with an appearance in the East-West Shrine Game.

Agler graduated from Cal in 1948 with a degree in business administration. He served in the U.S. military in World War II and the Korean War. For his distinguished record of service, he earned the Bronze Star Medal and the Korean Tiger Brigade Medal of Honor in 1952. After serving his country, Agler enjoyed a successful career as an executive at Container Corporation of America in Fresno, Calif.

Since his retirement, Agler has been involved in various Cal fundraising activities as Chairman of the Bear Backer Council.

Established in 1995, the Seaborg Award has been presented to 11 recipients. Past winners include:

1995 - Rod Franz
1996 - John Najarian, M.D.
1997 - John Ralston
1998 - Les Richter
1999 - Vic Bottari
2000 - Pete Schabarum
2001 - Ed Bartlett
2002 - Ray Willsey
2003 - Jack Hart
2004 - Bob Karpe
2005 - Harry Agler